We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Mare Nostrum

Mare Nostrum
Ranked #124 of 554 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

There was 9 of us and every dish was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, the service was excellent and great for kids. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Visited at the start of their evening shift. 4 adults. We ordered three starters, three mains and two rice dishes to share. The Japanese gyoza were tasty. The spring roll was tasty enough even though it was about three times the size I would expect. The wontons were literally a wonton wrapper shaped and deep fried - no filling. I’m not sure if this is popular or the norm here but I still can’t get past that we were served wrappers deep fried with no filling. I should have said something, instead of moaning about it here, but I didn’t. At least the six crispy wrappers only cost €4.50 (although a packet of 50 wrappers in Ireland only cost €2.25). The chicken with cashew nuts was very tasty but also very mean with the nuts. The beef Szechuan was good and spicy. The Peking duck was average. Skin was mostly soggy. The rice three delicious was tasty, but for me the ham was spam. The meal was not expensive. The staff were lovely. The setting was great. I think if instead of offering a free drink at the end, and improving the quality of food, this could be a great spot.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank CarrieStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Not my usual meal on holiday but sat behind the restaurant having a drink and the aroma was amazing, had a delicious meal for 3. Freshly cooked and generous portions would recommend

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Yas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

I have to say I was not expecting this to be so good. Right on the harbour with plenty of tourists, always slightly concerned that the food is average, but not the case. The food was excellent, so much of it, too much in fact, but we managed! Very nice service and good value for money, will definitely return,

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank HolidayLass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Fancied a Chinese after a heavy night before and TA reviews looked good for this place. Food and service were spot on and we had a great bottle of rioja with the meal also. Sizzling beef is my recommendation.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie23B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mare Nostrum also viewed

 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing