We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 144)
Filter reviews
2 144 results
Traveller rating
1 225
533
232
97
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 225
533
232
97
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite a la carte restaurants dressing area sea view half board indoor pool lovely hotel thalasso spa the general manager buffet restaurant lobby bar all inclusive package taxi ride kids club big balcony separate shower welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 2 144 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter as I readied appartment for summer visitors. Very large hotel with well laid out reception and pleasant welcome. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was great and was very well laid out large room with sea view all excellent . Unfortunately what is the real problem with this hotel is the pool area which is too small for the number of guests a very busy pool and tightly packed sunbeds surrounding it which offer little privacy . Not really what you would expect from a five star hotel

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Andy M,


Thank you for your valuable feedback. It’s true that during your stay the hotel was fully occupied and there have been many families. I’m sorry to learn that due to this fact you couldn’t relax in any of our inside or outside facilites. This is not the first time I’m answering this kind of comments. This leads us to really re-consider the organisation of the spaces for different segments of the clients. We are already searching for the best options and hopefully will be implementing them soon.


Best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Really enjoyed our 2 weeks HB . Beautiful hotel rooms and en-suites with immaculate housekeeping and friendly helpful staff.Linens changed every day and the whole place shone.
Food always fresh, and plenty of it but not 5 star/gourmet as most of the meals were with freshly grilled meat of fish of your choice and veg or salad (very wholesome but a bit boring).Good daily home-made soup and gazpacho with very fresh bread .

.Wonderful 'adult only' indoor pool and patio, and an extensive outdoor pool and sun area for everyone surrounded by well tended gardens and evening entertainment for approx 1 hour.
Only drawback , there was no town shuttle(2.5km) and a cab with tip was 9 -10 euros each way which adds a fair bit onto each venture into Estapona marina or Old Town. Reception said this would hopefully change in the future . There is a local bus service from outside the hotel but their times are a little negotiable!
There are 2 supermarkets in easy walking distance for the things you forgot to pack!

Room Tip: The far ends of the hotel are quieter during the day as they do not overlook the main pool or restaurant area.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that you had a fantastic time with us and we’ll be happy to welcome you back whenever in the future your holiday brings you to Estepona.

Best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We stayed at the Gran Elba for a week, we arrived and were offered a drink as we checked in. We were given two lovely rooms which walked out into the gardens and a view of the sea further on. The rooms was very big with the bathroom area consisting of 2 sections and the main bedroom also having space for 2 tables and a sofa and still look like there was plenty of room.

Breakfast was nice with plenty of options daily. There was a choice of both hot and cold foods. We never had lunch or dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on that.

The wifi was good and strong whenever I used it and I never had any issues of it cutting out.

The pool area is large and does get quite busy so I preferred to go to the indoor pool which was very quiet in comparison. I also preferred this area as they had large beds outside as opposed to the sun loungers by the main pool. It was nice to relax on the beds in a much more quiet environment.

We had hired a car so we drove about a fair bit, Estopona town was a 5 minute drive, Puerto Banus 15 mins and we also drove to Mijas which was about 45 mins away. I would recommend a car hire if you stayed here as the cost would be much less then taxis daily.

Staff were very nice and friendly as well and were happy to help whenever we asked anything or requested something.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny-singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear sunny-singh,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that your family holiday was an enjoyable experience. I will share your nice comments about our staff,they are very dedicated professionals and certainly will be delighted to learn that they could make your stay special.

Best regards,
Juan Manuel Galán
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We booked and paid through booking.com the presidential suite just for one night for a birthday surprise for our two daughters. We had arranged to go riding on the Saturday morning after a nights stay at this hotel. When we arrived around 5pm after a very busy day in work and it was hot and we just wanted to get to the suite and relax, bearing in mind it was for one night only , we left waiting for half an hour whilst they "prepared the room". Then we were given keys to our room, which was a pokey room with two double beds squeezed together. This was not the presidential suite?? Back to reception, another half hour wait whilst they again "prepared our room". After half an hour, they tell us that the presidential suite has been double booked and offered us an alternative, which for a family of four, had to be two separate rooms. We took it of course, what else could we do? But the real annoyance no discount, hotel blames booking.com, booking.com blaming hotel, two disappointed children, and a very hot and tired and stressed husband and wife. A spoiled birthday surprise and an hour and half of our lives wasted in a hotel reception room. We have always used booking.com and never had this problem before.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caboodlemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dearcaboodlemedia,

thank you for your visit and for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We have carefully read your review and taken them into serious account. We work very hard and we always welcome any sort of feedback as it helps us to improve our services and take neccesary measures wherever required.

Once again thank you for your visit and best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Lovely hotel although probably 4 star rather than 5. Very good high floor room with sea view to Gibraltar.Staff friendly and helpful.Cold food buffets at breakfast and dinner excellent with extensive choices. Hot food at breakfast and dinner disappointing with limited choice and often only warm.A la carte menu for extra 13 euro per person much the same as main restaurant.
Quiet garden area away from the pool with plenty of loungers and umbrellas - the pool at times was very busy.Beach stoney and disappointing.
Nothing around the hotel except an Aldi across the road. Taxi into Estepona - which is lovely - 16 euros round trip.Evening entertainment varied and good.Nowhere to walk to for a quiet drink or a meal.
Overall very nice hotel but disappointing location!

Room Tip: High floor, sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TynedaleHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor. I’m truly sorry to learn that we didn’t meet your expectations. That’s certainly not the direction in which we wish to go and we really appreciate your valuable comments. Our Team is looking into the issues you mentioned and we believe in providing better experiences for our future guests.

Best regards,
Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews