We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
165
241
42
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
241
42
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smalltourist spotshuge lobbybasic toiletriesgreat locationsmall deskhard boiled eggscentral locationair conditionwalking distancelovely roomhotel guestsold towna great staystayed here for two nightsmain attractionsshopping mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This hotel has a central location close to shopping mall and tram stops, approximately a 10 minute walk to riverside conference center. It has a beautiful modern entrance and bar area and friendly and efficient staff.

The rooms are smaller than I anticipated from the photos however they are clean and modern. Furnishings are basic but include a small desk, shelving area and rails (no closet), comfy chair and a decent sized double bed (on the firm side). The bathrooms are pretty compact - shower only but with plenty of hot water and decent water pressure. Basic toiletries are also provided (shampoo and soap).

Sound insulation was pretty good, I heard nothing from the rooms next door to me. There are building works opposite the hotel - they are tearing down an apartment building, during my stay I was not affected however if you need to work form your room or sleep later than 9am on weekdays - ask for a room on the other side of the building.

In summary, great quality budget hotel - I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Avoid the side overlooking the building/demolition site
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Stayed here for two nights to visit the Christmas Markets. The hotel is very modern and the rooms are small, but lovely. The bed was super comfortable with nice big pillows. The shower is fantastic and I am happy that they have opted for refillable toiletries, which are of excellent quality. The breakfast is good and super that it is open for 4 hours, however it can get quite busy, so bring your patience. The first night we were there we found the bar staff to be quite inefficient (brought the tonic for a g&t but we waited almost 15mins for the gin) border-lining on unfriendly. The one gentleman behind the bar was forthcoming and very helpful for the remainder of our stay. I can recommend the hotel, however the staff seems a bit stressed, perhaps needs to be addressed with the managers (i.e. understaffed in the evenings).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pinki15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

conviniently located with stylized lobby and room. I liked the modern and new design of the place. It is a good price for a nice, cozy a little small room. Breakfast is good but a bit crowded. For parking u need to pay. I still recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank china200804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I am in the middle of a week here - where I was booked in by the organisation for whom I am working in Dresden.

Motel One is really as near to the UK Premier Inn as makes little difference. It offers clean, perfectly adequate accommodation at a reasonable price.My room is not at all unpleasing, if pretty small. No cupboard space - in fact, not a lot of space, full stop! Open shelving and an open rail for hangers. Shower room / toilet is perfectly efficient - in fact the shower is better than most. But try to bring as little clobber with you as possible. There is nowhere to put it.
The one thing they seem (surprisingly) not to have thought of is providing a power point adjacent to the only small table in the bedroom. Bed is pleasingly large and comfortable with nice quality sheets.
So - provided you really only want to use your room to sleep in, this is fine. I would not want to spend a week here with my wife! (all rooms are the same size, they tell me, whether for one or two.) Far too cramped.

Breakfast is absolutely fine - self serve from quite a generous buffet.

So - functional and clean and offering what you would hope to get for the price - but nothing more.

Room Tip: I think all are exactly the same.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cel2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Economic and aesthetically pleasing not clinical but ultra-clean, comfortable and friendly. Considering it is not a full service got a warm welcome, a lovely room. Only niggle was with no overflow, in sink so no plug either but quickly learned to cope!

Certainly this did not stop me booking into the Motel one at Berlin Hauptbahnoff immediately for my next stay, even though it meant cancelling a slightly lower cost hotel.

Top tip: take no notice of the name this is not a "truckers hold over"!! Instead
a really quality experience and the Schwinger was the absolutely ideal location for a tourist. Everything walkable apart from perhaps the so-called "Newtown" over bridge.

Tip: getting there from main station:

number 11 tram
This leaves from outside the MAIN station (hauptbahnoff Nord) to find right stop, leave station towards Wiener Platz exit area (initially just follow yellow tram signs from inside the main station). Then go right across the said Platz, noting the tram goes from last set of lines, so you need to cross rest, but just look for stop for tram 11 and then make sure you are going in right direction for Postplatz stop!

Cost €2.30 or less single journey or possibly Kurz adult, check, but you can buy ticket/s ahead at machine and validate or, if on board, you will need exact change. (If you arrive in time to get a travel card for Dresden from tourist info. desk in station, may make sense for a family, but a lone traveller does not really need one though the museum card is a reasonable investment if you are planning all of them!!)

Get out at Postplatz walk towards open space and that is clear, as other direction is a long street and, across "Postplatz" slightly to left, but hotel is big and should be quickly visible.

As a taxi from station may have a queue at peak times, and one cost me €10.00 (it was after 11pm with one piece of luggage)) journey -time is pretty quick if not quicker, by tram as only 3-4 stops. Regular service max 15 minutes off peak Sundays!!

Enjoy, Dresden is fantastically Baroque even if rebuilt!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank alanaw0king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews