We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pond Cottage

Romantic Pond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool Pond Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool
Pond Cottage
Comfy lounge
Double bedroom 1
Cottage from S/W
Apple blossoms in May
Kitchen
Pool and Cider Barn
Double bedroom 2
Cozy lounge with wood burner
Lambs in the Spring
Pond Cottage garden
Pond in May
Garden near pool in May
Another view of Double bedroom 1
View of the pool
Contented young sheep
Life in the Paddock
The garden in July
Pond Cottage in the autumn
5 acre apple orchard in the autumn
Inner courtyard of farm
The farm house in the early morning sun
Filleigh Castle  - 10 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Witheridge, Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie L
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned after a wonderful week in Pond Cottage. The cottage is beautiful and we made extremley welcome by Renate and John. We felt so relaxed after our stay and would definatly recomend . Really looking forward to returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Dear Julie and family
Thank you. It was a pleasure having you here and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you also for leaving the cottage in such good order.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisod...
Vancouver Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

John and Renate are absolutely wonderful people and hosts! There were jars of homemade Jams and eggs for breakfast to greet us. John toured us around the farm and his plantations spending an extraordinary amount of time with us. The cottage is flawless has every appointment and in spotless condition. The location is as quiet and rural as you can get, we were awakened (Not too early) by the gentle mumblings if ducks and sheep.
Our hosts even mailed our conversion plugs to us after we had left them there in spite of them leaving for holidays the same day!
Thank you both for a memorable stay, we will always recommend you highly!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you for being such brilliant and enthusiastic guests. It was a pleasure sharing our farm with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna R
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic and well equipped cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Pond Cottage for 5 nights at the end of August / beginning of September with our son (5). Pond cottage is delightful, finished to a high standard and well equipped in a beautiful and peaceful location. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cottage and were very warmly welcomed by John and Renate who were perfect hosts during our stay.

Our son loved feeding the ducks and geese,meeting the sheep and walking around the orchard and farm.

Unfortunately the weather was not overly kind to us so we only braved the the pool once but I am sure it would be very lovely on a warm summers day.

Our son, along with my husband and I,were all very sad when our holiday came to an end and we definitely hope to stay at Pond Cottage again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really great
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neperky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tranquil cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I stayed at the cottage for a week and had a lovely time. The weather wasn't that great but the cottage had everything you need as it is furnished to a very high standard. John and Renate were very welcoming and easy to talk to along with all their lovely ducks and geese which we spent a lot of time feeding. The swimming pool was lovely unfortunately we didn't use it as it was too cold for us, but my daughter braved it a couple of times.
Ideal location to get out and about we would definitely return.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
28sharonj
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great place to stay to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Lovely to see the animals and to hear bird song in the evening. Central location to easily get to the North Devon coast. Pack some wellingtons just in case the weather changes so you can explore the land.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a break from Computers for a week. Wifi is avaible if wanted but you need to go nearer to the farmhouse to use it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing