We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best cottage in Devon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pond Cottage

Romantic Pond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool Pond Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool
Pond Cottage
Comfy lounge
Double bedroom 1
Cottage from S/W
Apple blossoms in May
Kitchen
Pool and Cider Barn
Double bedroom 2
Cozy lounge with wood burner
Lambs in the Spring
Pond Cottage garden
Pond in May
Garden near pool in May
Another view of Double bedroom 1
View of the pool
Contented young sheep
Life in the Paddock
The garden in July
Pond Cottage in the autumn
5 acre apple orchard in the autumn
Inner courtyard of farm
The farm house in the early morning sun
Filleigh Castle  - 10 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Witheridge, Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lou C
Sepang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best cottage in Devon”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a delightful week at the charming Pond Cottage. The cottage’s kitchen is excellent and the general furnishings are to a high standard; it has the benefit of two en-suite shower rooms, which were a must with two 10-13yrs olds and two adults resident. With frogs, ducks, geese and sheep to keep us entertained, we enjoyed simply exploring the farm estate and land, although when we spotted the stream, we quickly regretted that we had not packed our wellington boots!
Never short of things to do, we were able to step outside the gate to walk (or run) the undulating country lanes or fields, or simply laze around the sunny picturesque poolside (youngest managed to swim on at least 5 occasions in the wettest summer of the decade). Or to travel a little further, situated within 40 mins of the fantastic shopping in historic Exeter and a little further to reach either Sidmouth on the southern or Lynmouth on the northern coastline, we had the best of both worlds at this beautiful location.
Thank you John, for your warm welcome and for sharing your beautiful farm with us this holiday. We have never been known to return to the same place, having been there, seen it, done it, however, Pond Cottage may just break that tradition!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda N
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could want for a relaxing holiday in glorious countryside experiencing farm life.”
Reviewed 20 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We had a fantastic week in this beautiful, well appointed cottage. Renate and John have thought of everything and were the perfect hosts; welcoming, kind and thoughtful. They showed us around their farm and didn't mind us wondering around their fields, looking at the baby lambs, orchards and farmyard. Nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated being able to stay at such peaceful countryside location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the beautiful rural setting and the well appointed cottage.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMacGB
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Lovely Getaway”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I stayed at Pond Cottage with my mother and daughter (age 6). We all loved the excellently-appointed cottage, it was truly fully equipped and very comfortable. The owners are super-friendly and are clearly passionate about making sure their guests enjoy themselves. We enjoyed seeing the sheep every day, who would run to the gate to say hello. The ducks wander around the grounds and are also very friendly. I know the owners will take you on a tour of the farm but we were so busy with day-trips we didn't have time. There is an outdoor pool although unfortunately the weather was too cool for us to use it while we were there. Because Pond Cottage is situated in between the two coasts, it was easy to travel in any direction to visit many of the fun attractions there are to offer. The Big Sheep, Milky Way, Canonteign Falls, Exmoor Zoo, Crealy Adventure Park... all within an hour's drive and my daughter loved them all! I would highly recommend staying at Pond Cottage and if I have the chance to stay there again I definitely will. One last note I would say definitely bring a SatNav as many of the roads are unnamed and without knowing the area you could get very lost without navigation... or maybe I just have a terrible sense of direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: No wifi in the cottage, although if you sat just outside the main house you could just about detect the main house's wifi
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage interior
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing