We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pond Cottage

Romantic Pond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool Pond Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool
Pond Cottage
Comfy lounge
Double bedroom 1
Cottage from S/W
Apple blossoms in May
Kitchen
Pool and Cider Barn
Double bedroom 2
Cozy lounge with wood burner
Lambs in the Spring
Pond Cottage garden
Pond in May
Garden near pool in May
Another view of Double bedroom 1
View of the pool
Contented young sheep
Life in the Paddock
The garden in July
Pond Cottage in the autumn
5 acre apple orchard in the autumn
Inner courtyard of farm
The farm house in the early morning sun
Filleigh Castle  - 10 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Witheridge, Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JMacGB
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Getaway”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I stayed at Pond Cottage with my mother and daughter (age 6). We all loved the excellently-appointed cottage, it was truly fully equipped and very comfortable. The owners are super-friendly and are clearly passionate about making sure their guests enjoy themselves. We enjoyed seeing the sheep every day, who would run to the gate to say hello. The ducks wander around the grounds and are also very friendly. I know the owners will take you on a tour of the farm but we were so busy with day-trips we didn't have time. There is an outdoor pool although unfortunately the weather was too cool for us to use it while we were there. Because Pond Cottage is situated in between the two coasts, it was easy to travel in any direction to visit many of the fun attractions there are to offer. The Big Sheep, Milky Way, Canonteign Falls, Exmoor Zoo, Crealy Adventure Park... all within an hour's drive and my daughter loved them all! I would highly recommend staying at Pond Cottage and if I have the chance to stay there again I definitely will. One last note I would say definitely bring a SatNav as many of the roads are unnamed and without knowing the area you could get very lost without navigation... or maybe I just have a terrible sense of direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: No wifi in the cottage, although if you sat just outside the main house you could just about detect the main house's wifi
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage interior
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
anna15491...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a perfect vacation home”
Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This beautiful holiday home more than lived up to the pictures and information on the advertisment.
The views from the windows of sheep, geese, beautiful gardens and the pond were magnificent.
Arriving to a welcoming bottle of wine, eggs and jam was an extra special treat, as well as meeting John and Renate and getting a tour of the property from John was an exra bonus. They have put a lot of love and thought into this property and it is definitely a place we would like to return to someday.
Hope the duck eggs turned into chicks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeting John and Renate and the scenery and animals
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalgaryBa...
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I searched the web for the perfect place and I found it.. Frequently the pictures don't live up to your expectations. But Pond Farm certainly does that and more. The cottage is wonderfully equipped and comfortable and the views of sheep, ducks and geese out of the windows are like a postcard. John and Renate Are so kind and to do a tour of the farm and land with John is a real treat.
the welcoming wine, jam and eggs were wonderful. This would be an amazing place to bring children, please bring your welly boots though, it does tend to rain.
Hopefully those duck eggs hatched.

S

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the owners the animals
Liked least: Niothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing