We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE PERFECT JOURNEY”
other travellers have booked this property
Hacienda Antigua by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hacienda Antigua by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Hacienda Antigua by night
spacious Terrace of the villa at Hacienda Antigua
Livingroom with 2 Sleeper Sofas
Beach in El Cuyo, 70m from Hacienda Antigua
Sunset in El Cuyo..quiet beach without the Crowds
Dog Life in El Cuyo
Floorplan for Hacienda Antigua Villa and Suite
Beaches in El Cuyo
View of Nature and Beach, El Cuyo
El Cuyo's fine white sandy beach
Happy mom on El Cuyo's pristine Beach
El Cuyo Town Map
Gasstation in El Cuyo's Port
Fun in El Cuyo, Golfcart Rentals
Relax the Mexican Way,...
El Cuyo sunsets,...
Fisherman in El Cuyo
Road from El Cuyo to Rio Lagartos,..Flamingo Alley
Ocean to the right, Lagoon to your left,...and the Sandroad in the middle,..amazing
Flamingo Observation Tower in El Cuyo
Welcome to El Cuyo
those could be yours,...
Beaches,  Lagoon and Flamingos
Crabs in El Cuyo
Wedding on the Beach in El Cuyo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
El Cuyo, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LaM621
2 reviews
“THE PERFECT JOURNEY”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were at Private Colonial Beach Hacienda Antigua at El Cuyo for 4 days, it was awesome!! since the very moment we made the reservation they start getting in charge of all our needs, sending us maps and very valuable info about the place, they even accept my dog and that is priceless! When we get there everything was perfect; a beautiful clean house was waiting for us, Remigio, the housekeeper was also there with a big smile and wonderful attitude! she cooked for us fresh and delicious meals everyday! she took care of everything there! Even she brought delicious cocconuts to celebrate my birthday! we had the good luck of finding in our next door neighbours a very nice people, so we spent the time together making the house a home for everybody. I would love to back again!! Thank you Remigio, Matt and everybody who made this vacation something unbelievable!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect, I wish I could stay more time.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Hola,
Thanks for having stayed with us..and great to hear that you enjoyed it.
Keep on recommending us and come back again,
Sunny regards Matthias and Remigia with Families
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Björn L
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, standard, location and service”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Go to El Cuyo if you want to experience real Mexico, something that is genuine, relaxed, beautiful and off the beaten track. Its a small town with a working infrastructure but far away from the hustle and bustle of mass tourism. Here you find peace and quiet, sandy roads and coconut palmtrees. Almost virgin beach, nice sand and fairly shallow water (but a bit of waves when windy)

I visited El Cuyo with my two boys, 3 and 5 years in mid february. Very quiet, warm, and felt very safe even at night. From Semana Santa and forward there might be another crowd and more tourists.

Matthias has by far the best value for money houses in El Cuyo, clean, good standard, (take it for what it is, don´t expect 5 star hotel), a nice short walk to town (a bit less than 1 km) and close to the beach. Matthias and his caretakers, (Remigia) are very attentive, serviceminded and helpful. Good and fast response for whatever problem that might occur. Remigia makes you feel like you are a part of family, if you need something to be washed, cooked, fresh fish or maybe a boat tour they will help you without overcharge.

Hacienda Antigua is good for 2-4 people, with big bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and a livingroom with 2 sofa-camas. Wifi, fridge and gas stove. There is another accomodation in the back, Lodge at Hacienda whichs is smaller with a pentry for cooking, good for two people but can sleep 4, but could be tight. The house is not beachfront, but anyway a nice veranda and just a short 40 meter walk to the beach. Matthias also have house at beachfront, check the bottom floor out, nice and big also. Good and friendly neighbours, no noice at night.

Don´t forget to visit La Conchita restaurant in town, excellent and geniune mexican food and very low prices. In the lagoon on the way out from El Cuyo you spot flamingos. Use tri-taxi service for 15 pesos if you are tired of walking. Check out also the kitesurfing scene, there are one or two schools on the beach. Have a great trip

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Hola Bjoern,

thanks for having chosen one of our rentlas,..it was great having you as a guest. thanks for recommending us,...saludos mattias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehilgeman
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We left early - nice enough but missing key amenities”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I want to preface this by saying that we did have an unusual arrangement with Matthias, the landlord, to switch properties in mid-week, from another property to this one. Maybe if we had arrived at the weekend, it would have had everything in working order. The house is nice enough inside - nothing special, though the screened in porches are good because there are a lot of mosquitoes with this house's location across the street from the beachfront properties. However, it was missing some key things:

1) NO PROPANE - not sure how they messed this up, but it meant we couldn't cook and didn't have hot showers. Deal killer. Plus, we never got a phone number for the caretakers, so couldn't contact them to get this taken care of.,
2) NO DRINKING WATER - Matthias usually gives you a big jug of potable water when you move into a property. Not only did he not give us one for the new property, but we had purchased a couple of extras when we moved into the first property that the caretakers took home with them when we moved. So, we had to run out in the middle of the night to buy drinking water.
3) NO BREEZE - I admit, we were spoiled, our first property was right on the beach with great breezes. But, this property was blocked off from the ocean breezes and it was VERY hot both during the day and at night for sleeping. There is an AC unit in the bedroom, but you have to pay extra for it and we did not. There are fans, but they don't keep up.
4) NO TV - There's supposed to be a TV in the place and, technically, there is, but it's only connected to a DVD player and that was broken.
5) NO WIFI - They say they have an "internet stick" for those that want Wifi, but it was not compatible with my laptop.

With everything put together, we were so dissatisfied with the place that we left a few days early and paid extra to stay in a hotel. I am pretty easy-going and would have been OK with pretty much all of this, except for the propane - freezing cold showers were my tipping point.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Hi,

thanks for the note..great that you liked our other beach property, sadly you did not write a review about that one at all, figures.
anyway, i will make short notes to your complaints, since all were or could have been managed onsite by the caretaker:

1) NO PROPANE : we have spare tanks onsite, caretaker could have changed it IF, yes IF you had told her

2) NO DRINKING WATER - Carteaker would have brought or refilled it.
3) NO BREEZE - ...who to blame?
4) NO TV - there is, but its connected to a Sony Home Theater, you need to bring your films
5) NO WIFI - Its by USB Stick provided by Telmex, unfortunately your Laptop did not work

Further we send you detailed house infos including phone number of the caretaker before arrival , and there is a copy also in the house.
So you did have the contact number, and my emails but i did not hear a word of you neither during this stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed 26 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing