We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome beach house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
El Cuyo, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
vschellha...
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome beach house”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous location directly at the beach in a beautifully styled house. El Cuyo is small quiet and nice fisherman's village far away from the hassle in Cancun - but you get everything you need with a bit of plannign and asking around. Very friendly and helpful host - everything was great. The house has a total of 3 apartments - we were in the ground floor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
thanks for having stayed with us,..happy that you enjoyed our beachhome as much as we do. thanks for recommending our house, looking forward hosting you again,..saludos Matthias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place - with a few issues”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely beautiful place. We rented the bottom floor and the penthouse for the March Break, 2016 with my two kids (9 and 13) and my parents. The house reminded me of a cottage -- slamming screen doors, the world's best patio, sea breezes, and visiting dogs. The beach was stunning. On three days, we saw pods of dolphins outside. We swam several times a day and walked to the pier at least once a day.

The kitchen is well-stocked, with a fridge and propane stove, microwave, killer blender and toaster. There are lots of utensils, cutting boards and knives. The beds are fine and the bedrooms are large. The bathroom was cute -- the hot water wasn't fantastic downstairs, but seemed better in the upstairs unit. Our towels and sheets weren't changed, so you might want to bring an extra towel or two.

Before we drove to the house, we picked up groceries and drinks in Cancun -- the selection in El Cuyo is limited. We used the place as a home base to see local sites, including Ek Balam, Chichen Itza, Valladollid, and a few cenotes. The surrounding roads are in great shape and everyone is friendly. If you are passing through Valladoilid, the Super Che has great groceries and the town of Temazon has the best smoked meat/tacos you've ever had. At all times, we felt safe.

The flamingos outside of town along the causeway were beautiful. They were often very close to the road. Magally and Christian, the caretakers, made dinner for us one night. It was a little expensive (750 pesos for 4 adults and 2 kids), but very good. They made local fish and shrimp, rice and veggies.

We had a few issues. The first is with the listing. We understood from the listing that it is a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom property. It is actually a two bedroom one bathroom property. The "third bedroom" is the living room. We approached Mattias and he offered a deal on the upstairs unit. When we arrived, the upstairs unit was not available. People were there for a wedding. Two days later, we got the keys. This was a pain, but Mattias gave us a refund for the two days. The air conditioners were noisy, the internet didn't work, and the hot water wasn't very hot, but these weren't a huge deal either.

Would we rent again? I'd be back tomorrow if I could. This place is like no other place on earth. Just be informed, and ask a lot of questions. If you need three actual bedrooms, rent two floors of the house. This is not a luxury house, and you will have sand everywhere by the end of the week, but you will not regret it for a second.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach and the water
Liked least: the lack of hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexanderR...
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Marvelous stay and view at it's best!”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
11
people found this review helpful

First of all, It wasn't my intention to stay in this house, because I had previously booked another beach-house a few steps of this one, but was nobody to greet us.... so I made a call to the number that was advertised on a palm tree and Voilà!

At first we were afraid because no one was in the first beach-house where we supposed to stay until we made the call and a good man (already forget his name) answered the phone and he just reached us where we were driving!

in the beach house this gentleman showed me the options of the three levels and the middle floor was just exactly to our budget.

The beach is so beautiful, the view of the second floor is stunning and the best was the refrigerator was great and the bed was comfy, that afternoon was sunny, and perfect...my brother, my friend and I enjoyed our evening splendidly drinking alcohol on the beach until dawn! :)
By the way the A/C wasn't working when we tried to turn it on around 6pm, so I asked by phone to this great gentleman if he could fix it.
and indeed he fixed and operated as it should be. (he came to the beach house)

also I asked him to turn on the water heater, but it did not work all night and all morning, so yes, only cold water... :(

next morning was windy and then rainy... we decided to just stay one night.

areas of opportunity:
*the sink had some dirty plates of any previous stay. (I guess, but I do understand we did not tell about our stay)

*Water heater, I went downstairs to explore the water heater, and it was on, but with a flame very light, I tried to turn a medium heat, but without results.

*no toilet paper in the bathroom or kitchen shelves.

at the end he apologized and we accepted his apologies and we will definitely return but with prior reservations to have an experience of 5 points on trip advisor. !! :)

undoubtedly the best beach house than the one that I had previously reserved.

-Lexander
-Carlos
-Richard

Thank you so much Hacienda el cuyo!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view! was beautiful!
Liked least: the water heater... next morning, if it's windy and rainy.. you only want a warm shower...
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Hola to Turkey,

thanks for naming our home the best beach house in town!!
we really appreciate it,..that you have stayed with us,..eventhought you were supposed to stay elsewhere.

Come back again next time, and we will have all things available and ready at check in.

sunny regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana L
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place made us feel like in heaven!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have been able to travel all around the world, on the most exotic places that you can not imagine. But when we visited el Cuyo, i was breath taken and experience the unexpected.

My boyfriend and I were looking for a weekend getaway, we live in Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo.. so we decided to go and have an adventure and drive into this place call El Cuyo...we had never been there before so we didn’t know what to expect.

With the new highway to Merida, we did only 1 hour and half to el Cuyo... SO CLOSE and easy to get there!

Once we arrived to El Cuyo, we were looking for a place to stay.... so we went closer to the beach to see what we can find.
As we drove, we stop a very nice lady and ask her if she knew a place we can stay, her name was Magaly... she immediately said to us, of course come with me! So then we met Christian, (Magaly´s husband) a very kind gentleman that guided us into this magical place called : Hacienda El Cuyo... as soon as we open the apartment, we knew we were staying there! The beds were confortable, the apartment its fully equipped and most importantly with air conditioner!

The beach is completely virgin, we were the only ones on the beach! White sand, comfortable sun deck chairs, bonfire set up and gorgeous view! So private, so quiet, so beautiful ... completely disconnected from our routine!
After we settle, we went downtown, as we were looking to buy some fresh fish.... we highly recommend you to find this guy named “EL PATO”, he is very popular within the local people... everybody recommended us to find him, as he will be able to give us some fresh shrimp and fish to cook on the bonfire!
After a very fun experience of cooking on a bonfire... we sat and relax and watch the stars – absolutely amazing!
Overall Hacienda el Cuyo offered us exactly what we were looking for, to spend some quality time and get away from the city. This place should be on your bucket list!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the beach
Liked least: the mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Hola,

great to read that you had such a nice time,..come back and recommend us to others,...saludos, mattias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C
Rohnert Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay--Beach is Pristine!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful trip to Hacienda El Cuyo, and I was able to fully unplug and recharge from my normally demanding work schedule! I went with my husband, my parents, and my sister and her family for about 10 days of fun in the sun, snorkeling, and visits to nearby Mayan ruins. The beach is pristine--not clogged with seaweed and hundreds of people like the Cancun area--and the small town has a relaxing, friendly vibe. The town is very safe and it's easy to get to if you rent a car or take the bus. The house is clean and well located, with a perfect view of the beach from the back door, where we often spent time on the outside terrace. Magally, the housekeeper, and her husband Cristian, who helps maintain the house, are very nice and stop by daily to check to see if you need anything. When we had a minor confusion about the air conditioning, they were quick to help us out, and they brought extra towels and other things we requested. This is also an ideal location for going on a variety of excursions, such as to see the nearby whale sharks. We went out to Isla Holbox and did a day excursion where we snorkeled with whale sharks, saw manta rays, sea turtles, and other incredible wildlife. El Cuyo is basically located in the middle of a nature preserve, so you'll likely see flamingos as you drive across the bridge to enter the town, and we saw dolphins frequently while we were there. My sister and her oldest son went on a morning fishing trip arranged by Cristian, and caught 5 or 6 large fish, which we cooked one evening. We also took day trips to Ek 'Balam (mayan ruins), Chichen Itza (UNESCO world heritage site/mayan ruins) and to swim in some of the cenotes in the area. Overall, the vacation was incredible and it is ideal for travelers who want unspoiled beaches in Mexico without leaving the comfort and safety of the Yucatan Peninsula

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great chance to get away from it all! Perfect beaches! Staff was very nice!
Liked least: Internet is slow, but there are internet cafes in the next town over for high-speed connections.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
Hola Linda and Family,

great that you had such a wonderful time in el cuyo and our Hacienda and Casa Maya Lodge with your entire Family. Also great to see that you loved the small village and the secluded ambiance there...it really is different than cancun or the Mayan Riviera...
Thanks and Muchas Gracias that you have chosen our home over others,...saludos Mattias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing