We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$113
US$110
View deal
SAVE US$3
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.comUS$113
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
74
117
62
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
117
62
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juice evening meal town centre beer base lorries rule
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Ok this was chosen by a group tour it is not a hotel I would have chosen myself, so firstly its not in Greifswald but some 3.5 to 4km from the town in a not so nice area of social housing and the German version of the Job Centre and the DOLE office. The hotel itself is bland in every way with (Our rooms at least) very small and very dated, the food was terrible, buffet style both morning and evening fruit fly a big problem. With one exception the staff were at best indifferent and it is a hotel I would never return too, that said the Town of Greifswald is worth a visit just pay a little more and stay in the town. Overall rating 3 out of 10.

Room tip: Don't stay here
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KMR903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

This is in a funny location, a 15 minute taxi ride or bus from the centre. It is on an industrial estate and is used by bus parties. We were fortunate that the bus parties didn’t affect our stay. The hotel decor is bright but unremarkable greens and yellows. The room was fine however it was comprised of two singles pushed together with two single duvets and we didn’t love that. Maybe doubles are available on request. Pleasant, helpful staff and a very adequate breakfast left us satisfied with our experience. Good parking but that’s probably because of the non central location. Not a pretty or central location however it delivered and you could safely stay here. Next time we might try to be more central but we wouldn’t rule out another stay here.

Room tip: Best at the back for less street noise
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A950XZcolinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

The hotel is immaculately presented, always friendly and happy to help.The harbour offers an excellent collection of old, but still working. vessels, the surrounding harbour houses are unique, and the town centre a joy to walk through.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mondo369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I was on a Leger battlefield tour and stayed 3 nights.It was in the 30's and my room at the front of the hotel was like a blast furnace as there was no air-conditioning.
The staff have excellent English and the breakfasts are well stocked with a good choice.I eat in the hotel restaurant twice with mixed results-one good meal, one not so good.
The hotel is fairly isolated but has a Mcdonalds nearby.You can get into town by taxi for 11-14 euros.
There are no English T.V. available but the room does have a fridge

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nojornum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPaymans, Owner at Mercure Hotel Greifswald Am Gorzberg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear guest,

many thanks for your remarks.

The summer in 2018 is one of many records.Temperatures over 30 degrees and this on many days in a row. However, seen over many years, this weathersituation is exceptional. Due to the fact, that these kinds of days do not occur often in Greifswald, our hotel does not have an airconditioning. Last year 2017 we only had 5 days with a temperature over 30 degrees. We also have a lot of wind, due to the fact, that Greifswald is located near the coast.
These facts lead to the conclusion, that the need for an airconditioning in our hotel does not have a high priority. Two years ago we have decided to invest our money (which is limited) in the renovation of the restaurant, reception and conferencerooms.
If the situation, concerning the climate, changes we will reconsider our decicion about the airconditioning.

To your remark concerning the english speaking TV channels, we have to admit, that during your stay in our hotel no englishspeaking channels were available, However this was caused by a broken transponder, which we have replaced.

I would be pleased to welcome you in our hotel a next time, so we can convince you, that we do not only have hot days in Greifswald.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The hotel is located in a commercial zone. There is noise from traffic, goods lorries and pedestrians from early morning until late evening' The lack of air conditioning necessitates opening the window for fresh air and to keep the temperature down. The open window admits the noise from outside! Facilities are basic - woodchip wallpaper, no fridge, no safe, no English language news channel, no tea-making facilities, open laminate cupboards, one small armchair. There was a walk in shower, but no safety hand rail. Towels were well worn. Breakfast.was OK, but evening meals are limited in quality and variety - predominantly pork and fish dishes and the ever-present salad. Most staff are friendly. A few are curt in their dealings with guests.

Room tip: We didn't have a 'good' room.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190cc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews