We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
90
52
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
52
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic hotel quiet location small fridge hope to return two nights good size room was large hotel is located town rudesheim motorcycle monument river bath cars german
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The hotel is somewhat pricey and the rooms are a bit too basic but spacious and well kept. The owner is very helpful and friendly. Public parking is available within walking distance. Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trouveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphWillig, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Thank you very much for your rating.
We love to read that you had a good time in our family run hotel.
Kind regards, Family Willig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We stayed here last week. This is a quiet hotel situated a few minutes walk from the main part of the town and we were glad to be staying away from the busier areas, although Ruedesheim is a fairly quiet and low key town on the Rhine. The room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The owner and staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was plentiful, tasty and a relaxing start to each day. The Ruedesheim area is very pretty, surrounded by vineyards and it is a good place for walking or catching a boat, train or ferry to get to other places easily as well. This hotel thoroughly deserves its position on TripAdvisor and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixiethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphWillig, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Thank you very much for this great review.
We think it describes perfectly what we are trying to reach.... to organize you a relaxed and perfect stay in a our little town.
We hope to welcoming you soon again.
Regards from the Willig family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2014

Super!
I was stayed 2 days with 2 y.o daughter and my wife. spacious room, great breakfast, very friendly staff.Greatefull place near the Christmas market/ drosselgasee street and lift to mountain. Parking in 2 steps from hotel. Thanks for the great days in this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Павел А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphWillig, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Thank you very much for your great review.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in our family-run place.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Ruedeshem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We drove into Rudesheim with no prior planning. We drove around the streets and came upon this hotel. We went in, asked for a room and to our amazement, they had one available. We were extremely lucky because we found out that all of Germany was on holiday and this town was full of locals on holiday. We enjoyed our stay here. The location was within walking distance to old town. The breakfast was plentiful and good. Needless to say, we lucked out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank onebreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphWillig, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you!!!
It is always a great pleasure to read and hear, that our guest enjoyed the stay in our family run hotel.
We are looking to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We were exhausted when we checked in. Then again, a 3 1/2 hour train ride that turns into a 6 hour train/un-air conditioned bus ride will do that to you. And when none of the three of us could get the internet to work, we were fit to be tied. What was really infuriating, though, was the desk clerk who shrugged her shoulders and flatly stated, "No one else has complained." Steamed, I vowed to myself to blast them on TripAdvisor.

We toured the town, had dinner, and by the time we got back to Zum Baeren, or Hotel of the Bare as I now called it, the internet was working. Huh, somebody else must have complained.

Fortunately, everything brightened the next morning. The "young" man behind the front desk was all smiles as he greeted us with, "Guten morgen!" He led us to our designated table and pointed us the sumptuous buffet. It is amazing how much difference a smile and a sunny disposition makes. It didn't hurt that the breakfast was so delicious, either; probably the best we had during our two week stay in Germany.

The room was nothing special. It was kinda cramped with the three of us.Too, we laughed at our bed, which was draped in some sort of medieval-looking canopy and the artwork, which looked like it was pictures cut out of an old Life magazine. The room was clean, though, and the beds were comfortable, so it had that going for it. Too, the bathroom was very spacious.

I was torn how to rate this hotel. If it wasn't so expensive, I probably would have rated it Very Good.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davenport_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphWillig, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to rate our hotel.
Well, to be honest, your feedback ist quite interesting to read...
What we figured out was that you overall liked our house/ service/ breakfast.
You have 2 main complaints:
1) internet: years ago we have been the first hotel in Ruedesheim which offered internet for FREE (there a still many places which charge ). So, this service always has been a main issue for us and we put a lot of effort in it to make it work perfectly. But I do understand that you were disapointed when having trouble after your exhausting journey to Ruedesheim.
2) the "design"of the room: As our hotel is an historic place in old town Ruedesheim, the layout/ sizes ot the rooms vary. Also the decoration. You can easily see it on our homepage.
Mainly our rooms are decorated in a modern style. But last winter when we renovated this room, we decided to do it in a kind of romantic style.
And we do have often guest ( especially from the US) who prefer that room over other rooms.
Unfortunately it didn't suit your taste and we are sorry for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews