We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime drink”
Review of ALEX Hamburg

ALEX Hamburg
Ranked #19 of 65 Dessert in Hamburg
Price range: US$2 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Neustadt
Description: Let your spirit flow right in the centre of Hamburg - a harmonious atmosphere and good service - that's what the ALEX Hamburg in the Alsterpavillon stands for. You will have the best view of the Binnenalster lake at the ALEX Beachclub. Pure relaxation...! The ALEX in Hamburg has warm food on offer right up until closing time.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a cruise on the lake on a hot sunny June day, we fancied a cool drink in the shade by the waterside
Bar Alex was a good choice, they have a massive outdoor seating area all around the building with nice comfortable sofa seating under large sun umbrellas
Service was quick, polite and drinks turned up quickly, food looked so goodbwe also decided to have a snack as well
Realy nice place to wile away an hour in comfort

Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeinALEX, Guest Relations Manager at ALEX Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi nigel,
thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our bar.
Great to hear you had a good time, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes, your ALEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1 892 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food and absolutely beautiful views across the lake .. if the weather is nice you could spend hours here just watching the world go by

Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeinALEX, Guest Relations Manager at ALEX Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for the kind words. ☺ We are always happy to hear from guests who liked their visit @ our ALEX. Hope to see you again soon! Your ALEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were running short on time and thought we get a quick dinner in. We ordered 2 drinks - cocktails which were pretty nice- and 2 baked potatoes. They were awful ... the 2 guys who brought them to the table were talking to each other in a language which we didn’t understand .. no English or German.. which didn’t make us feel comfortable at all.

We had one with chicken - totally overcooked and disgusting - and one with pulled pork - cold!! The salad was old and soggy ... all in all a pretty unenjoyable experience.

Thank Gemmyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeinALEX, Guest Relations Manager at ALEX Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gemmyfee,
sorry to hear that your food couldn't live up to your expectations that day. We can normally do much better!
Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate every kind of feedback to improve our performance.
All the best
Your ALEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been at Alex around 5 times already. Today, we arrived there to have dinner and watch the World Cup game. The waiters were so rude, asked us to carry the chairs if we would like to sit, and didn’t want to receive coins for the payment (actually, said it was not a bank to receive them). They really know how to make a client never go back to a place!!!!!!!!!!

Thank Thiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeinALEX, Guest Relations Manager at ALEX Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thiago M,
sorry about that incident. It must have been really busy at your last visit. We handle loads of guests during the weekends and as specially during the world cup. We have to apologize for our waiters, which must have had a bad day. This is no excuse to be rude in any way but sometimes they’re only human and when things get extra stressful, some of them just hit the wrong note.
That doesn’t happen most of the time, which u hopefully know from the 4 visits before that.
Please accept our apology and make sure u visit us another time soon!
We’d be glad to have you!
All the best, your ALEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Nice place to while away a couple of hours after shopping. Food is no nonsense and good. View is lovely.

Thank Clb771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeinALEX, Guest Relations Manager at ALEX Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi there,
thank you so much for your nice review and that you liked our place and the food.
We'll look forward to welcome you back again.
Your ALEX Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ALEX Hamburg also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to ALEX Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing