We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/29
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/30
Destinia.com
US$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/27
Hotels.comUS$103
PricelineUS$103
eDreamsUS$103
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 024)
Filter reviews
1 024 results
Traveller rating
304
494
170
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
494
170
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river central location city altstadt europe fortress
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 024 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2020

The hotel was nice enough, but the slopped cellings made the room feel cramped. But everything else was as you would expect from a Mercure.
The location right on the river is great, with so much to do within walking distance.
The hotel was pretty quiet as well given it is right on a main road.

I felt breakfast was expensive, but the selection was pretty good.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dave05182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2020

The standard double room is not the usual size one would expect and associate with the Mercure brand. There is hardly space to walk, and the intended layout of the room means the only place for luggage is right in the walkway to the room and toilet doors.

At checkout, I tried to give this same feedback to the staff who asked me about the stay. Her response to my feedback is there are bigger rooms I can book. I think this misses the point - a standard double room needs to be adequate for 2 people to live in. And my experience at another Mercure hotel (in Munich on this same trip) validates my view point - I also booked a standard double room, yet it was far more spacious (at least 30-40% more space). Price wise, the Munich Mercure asked for a premium of just €2 per night over Wurzburg when (1) it had a much more central location than the one in Wurzburg, and (2) breakfast was included in Munich but excluded at Wurzburg.

International travelers like me rely on the branding as a proxy for comfort and quality, especially during our first visit to a given city. So I hope Accor/Mercure will maintain the excellent standards that have come to be associated with the Mercure brand across all your Mercure branded establishments.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank TravellingMeows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2020

I've stayed in many Mercures all over Europe - this was, hands down, the worst.

In fact, Mercure should be embarrassed to have their name on the place.

The location is on the wrong side of the river and it is nowhere near the fortress. That said, it really is not to far to the Altstadt.

The room was awful. I know European small, and ours was even smaller! There was barely enough room to open our 2 carry-on size bags. Any larger would have to have been opened on the bed. And the bathroom was even smaller. How about a toilet so close to the wall and radiator that I had to sit sideways?

Also, housekeeping simply skipped our room one day. We came back to a dank smelling room (of course the wet towels never dried on the floor) so I had to toss them into the hallway (very narrow) and go down to the desk for more.

After a bit of attitude (as if it was my fault that housekeeping skipped our room) from the desk clerk I got 2 fresh bath towels.

Overall it was very disappointing for a Mercure.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2019

We stayed in room 314 which was a nice room with a great view of the Main River. Somewhat of a funky hotel but good location with a safe in the room but NO REFRIGERATOR. Robes and slippers provided, little headroom due to roofline, nice toiletries, big desk, lots of power outlets, good breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauiMaluhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews