We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
58
116
41
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
116
41
16
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Good location in this lovely town. Excellent service. The staff solved the problem we had with the bed very quickly and without any bothering us. Thanks! Breakfast fantastic in the Marie Therese salon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank MaribelM155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg O, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Blauer Hecht, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thanks a lot for your best ranking! We hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Large clean room with good amenities. Location is excellent. It's not far from the main centre. The city has lots of history. A night watchman give you a tour of the town with very interesting stories. Breakfast is excellent--lots of choices.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank orient20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg O, Manager at Hotel Blauer Hecht, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

thanks a lot, thank you very much for the ranking. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel on our way home from vacation for two reasons. First price: our double room with breakfast cost only 67€. Probably because we were 20km from the Autobahn -- but the price and secondly the "romance" got me to book. Other options directly off the Autobahn were much more expensive.

The romantic picture came from the hotel name plus the advertised pool and sauna.

We arrived at about 9.30 pm and promptly discovered, much to our chagrin, that the sauna and pool were closed--open only from noon to 9pm :{. So much for the romance. (The hotel name derives from its location in the "romance street" in Franconia, not because it's particularly romantic.)

If you get room 231 make sure you have someone show you where it is--I combed the hotel for 5-10 minutes before going back to the reception area to ask again. Could not find it! (How difficult can it be to find a hotel room?)

It turned out to be a bad idea arriving shortly before the reception closed at 10pm -- we arrived at 9.30pm and asked if we could put something in the fridge, was told "sure", but when we returned from looking for the room the receptionist was gone for the night and the lights had been turned out. So much for the refrigerator.

We must have gotten the last room. It was an attic room that seemed to overlook a beer garden and I could hear the guests talking and laughing until midnight (Saturday). The room was a bit cramped, but comfortable and we slept well.

Great breakfast the next morning with scrambled eggs plus all the stuff you normally get at a German breakfast buffet.

The hotel is located in the middle of a picturesque Bavarian town, but you may have to park in a parking area outside the old town, about a five minute walk from the hotel as we had to do. Check first as there are a couple of parking spots right in front of the hotel, but use seems to be restricted to certain hours and days.

All in all it's a good value.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg O, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Blauer Hecht, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

hello - thanks for your words. I have to say something about the price and the opening times. You write: the price double room, last-minute-booing 67,-- € p.night. Your write: "not "expensive" - both is correct!
But if you pay less than in other hotels - there is a reason for that concept: for example - our reception isn't open all over the night (we have a keybox for arrivalt time after 10 pm), the restaurant close at 9 pm and the pool close at 9 pm - otherwise we can't hold the price. You understand - thanks for the logical terms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, but nothing really great either. It's clean, the room was perfectly acceptable and the bathroom was okay. However, the bed was hard and there were no spare pillows. Public areas were a bit kitsch, but less so than when I first stayed here 30 years ago! There seemed to be some confusion when we arrived as to whether or not we could park beside the hotel - the young receptionist said that it was okay, but my husband got shouted at by a coach driver, who threatened to phone the police! We discovered in the morning that there are several free car parks just outside the old city walls, which are only a few minutes walk away - perhaps the hotel should advise that this is the case? Also, all the internal hotel and tourist information in the room was in German, and as non-German speakers we found this a bit difficult! Breakfast was acceptable, but not impressive.

Having said all that, the room and the hotel were quiet at night, which is always a bonus, and as this was the cheapest of the hotels that we stayed in during our recent trip, perhaps it's better to accept that you get what you pay for! For a one night stay, the Hecht was okay, but although I would certainly return to Dinkelsbühl, I would probably look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flossie229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg O, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Blauer Hecht, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

thanks for your rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This is possibly one of the most unwelcoming hotels we have ever stayed at! We checked in, were given a key and that was it. There was no information available regarding breakfast times, restaurant opening times, bar facilities - all the things that would normally be found in a folder in the room. It wasn't until we were leaving that we found out there was a lovely terrace area. The room was large and functional but no toiletries, no clean towel options, no tea or coffee making facilities. TV didn't work and, although advertised, no Wi-Fi. either. Such a shame as Dinkelsbuhl itself is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank littlefish979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg O, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Blauer Hecht, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

thanks for your rating - we will make betterthe guest information -and we write the guest information in english also. thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews