We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
121
202
76
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
202
76
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express train station unlimited travel freshly baked croissants nice upgrade room cleaned old town didn't hear a thing budget option huge shower nice room main station cold meats ice machine bed sheets spacious bathroom road noise
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

This is one of the best Holiday inn express I have visited. The hotel is clean, neat and well located. Breakfast very good. A point to remark on this stay was the service provided at the front desk. The ladies at the front desk (unfortunately can not recall her names) were great and excellently helpful. They gave me a warm welcome to the city. I would dare to say they represent the values and character of the area area residents. They are so proud of their city and transmit to visitors inspiration and respect for the city.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX N, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Nuremberg City - Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Luis, thank you very much for taking your time to write us this great review. We really do appreciate your great words! We happily forwarded these kind words to our staff. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Nuremberg and in our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you soon again here! Best regards from Nuremberg, Fanni Szemes Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The positives first - this is a bog standard Holiday Inn Express. With the curtains closed you could be anywhere in Europe, if not the world, and that's why you'd book a hotel such as this. Frills are limited, but what they do offer they execute well - clean, warm rooms with plentiful hot water. You also get your carbs 3-ways in a typical HI Express free breakfast.

The location is fine. It's a 5 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof and within 10 minutes on foot you'll be in the heart of the action in beautiful Nürnberg.

The negatives:

The big one: during Toy Fair/Spielwarenmesse the rate was over €600 per night. This is obscene, and would be surprising for a Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza. For a Holiday Inn Express it was disgusting. Visit during a trade show and you're not a guest, you're margin there to be gouged.

I know there's a shortage of hotels in Nürnberg. I know the concept of supply & demand. However this is a basic hotel and charging over 6x what Holiday Inn Expresses cost the world over leaves a very sour taste. What was even more disappointing was the lack of anything special - the €500 per night increase on the norm was pure margin for the hotel and its licensee. Even a little Kinder egg or packet of Haribo would have added a slightly special touch, or even a slightly better breakfast.

Note, also, that 'flexible' rates aren't actually flexible and need to be amended at least 2 weeks out. Read your small print if you're on business with plans that are liable to change.

For your €600 per night you'll get the bog standard Holiday Inn Express room as above, with added tram noise if you're on the North side of the building, or facing the main railway junction if you're on the South side. Soundproofing was attempted but sub-standard.

It's a petty one, I know, but IHG hotel staff have a script and on this occasion I wasn't welcomed as a Spire Elite member. I find the routine cringeworthy, but in a hotel portfolio as diverse as IHG's such scripts and processes are needed to deliver consistent experience.

I will do everything in my power to avoid this hotel for Toy Fair in years to come. The Holiday Inn in Nürnberg is a bit further from the station but booked in advance is a little cheaper than the Express - I'll be moving my business there, or indeed anywhere else to attempt to get something resembling value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nuremberg City - Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Andrew W,
thank you very much for being out hotel guest and sharing your thoughts about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Nuernberg City - HBF.
It made us very happy that you were satisfied with the location, service and the other amenities of Holiday Inn Express.
I would like to kindly remind you that, the price is higher in the fair time according to the availibility then the low season.
I would like to kindly inform you that, we offer standard continental cold breakfast of Holiday Inn Express.
We are deeply sorry that you weren't welcomed as Spire Elite Member. We definitely will get more trainings to improve our service for the valued guests. It will be our honor to have you as Spire Elite Member again in our establisment.
Please give us a second chance to show you our improved service.
We look forward to seeing you at our establishment very soon again.
Yilmaz Celebi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We stayed there last year during Biofach and it's fantastic due to its place. Very simple and an excellent business hotel. The brand name is always promising and there is no risk at all. You will have no surprises!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sait E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX N, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Nuremberg City - Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear SaitElibol, thank you very much for taking your time to write us this great review. We really do appreciate your great words! We hope you enjoyed your stay in Nuremberg and in our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you soon again here! Best regards from Nuremberg, Fanni Szemes Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Hotel very central, 5 minutes walk from train station. Staff excellent.No restaurant in hotel but there are plenty in the vicinity. Breakfast continental, Engĺish would be appreciated. Clean and functional.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nuremberg City - Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for being out hotel guest and sharing your thoughts about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Nuernberg City - HBF.
It made us very happy that you were satisfied with the location, service and the other amenities of Holiday Inn Expres.
We look forward to seeing you at our establisment very soon again.
Yilmaz Celebi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Good city hotel, very close to the city centre and good spa/gym facilities. Located “slightly” near the red light district but if you walk left out the hotel and the right, you can avoid it altogether. Didn’t feel that this was an issue at all. Excellent customer service and good rooms, would happily stay here again when I’m back in Nuremberg.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nuremberg City - Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for being out hotel guest and sharing your thoughts about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Nuernberg City - HBF.
It made us very happy that you were satisfied with the location, service and the other amenities of Holiday Inn Expres.
We look forward to seeing you at our establisment very soon again.
Yilmaz Celebi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews