We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful....Bring your swimming suits”
Review of Alpseebad

Alpseebad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Alpseebad (Lake-swimming -area)is the best place in Hohenschwangau to relax and have fun with swimming in the crystal clear Alplake. You can stay to fill your gap before your castle entrance or stay just the whole day. Open from April every day except rain.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

After visiting the castles, we enjoyed the lake. The lake is walking distance from the Castle Museum. We rented paddle boats for 30 minutes for 5 Euros. Wenr swimming in the lake. If you travel with your dog, there were dogs there too. It was an enjoyable side trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ecd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beautiful lake"
in 11 reviews
"swans and ducks"
in 2 reviews
"clean water"
in 2 reviews
"clear water"
in 2 reviews
"neuschwanstein castle"
in 7 reviews
"shore"
in 4 reviews
"alps"
in 4 reviews
"tourists"
in 3 reviews
"nature"
in 2 reviews
"hike"
in 3 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Loved this lake with its townside beach - perfect for a refreshing swim after walking around the lake (approx 2 hours). Very relaxing lying on one of the beaches or grass (or sitting in the cafe/restaurant) and feasting your eyes on the deep blue green that is the Alpsee.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Hard to say what I enjoyed more - the Neuschwanstein Castle or swimming in the Alpsee. However the lake was not so overcrowded.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank BM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Really beautiful lake with clear water. It was very hot July day when we visited, so we could not resist to take a bath. Water was pleasantly cool, but still warm enough for swimming. Be careful, if you are not a good swimmer, it becomes deep swiftly and max depth is 98 meters :) Lake shore was with small stones, but they were not too sharp. There were swans and ducks near the lake. It also possible to rent boats and catamarans. Along the lake leads easy hiking/ biking trail, we walked 1st kilometer of it (lack of time). Next to the trail were growing wild raspberries and blueberries.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Nuclearbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

I did not swim but took the almost two hour walk around the lake. Stunning spot with clean clear water which I expect is very cold but refreshing.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Susieb2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpseebad also viewed

 

Been to Alpseebad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing