We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
64
53
17
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
53
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old bridge big church gummy bears quieter room noisy at night two night stay small hotel great room excellent location the river noise castle alte university german neckar
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

stayed for 3 nights in July 2018, the rooms are fairly basic but decent enough. We ate in the restaurant on the last night and honestly wished we'd ate there every night - excellent food!

Breakfast is decent and the staff are friendly and helpful - only warning in to avoid "Asia-Box" restaurant up the road to right of big church, the woman is vile, rude and arrogant, throwing food and drinks down, my wife's meal was so bad I complained, the Witch scrubbed out the total and INCREASED it thinking we're so thick we wouldn't notice - apart from that the whole area is amazing and we'd def go back!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A5D55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

I've given this hotel 4 stars mostly for it's location and restaurant, and the helpfulness of the staff whom we found friendly and attentive. Our room was on the first floor at the back of the hotel (I expressly asked for a quieter room when I booked). The room was rather old-fashioned and basic but quite ok, with its own little terrace. No air conditioning, only a fan, unfortunately we had a roasting hot week! However, if you need to go to bed early, this hotel is not for you. We gave up all hope of getting to sleep until at least 11.30pm...noise from the restaurant being cleaned up and people in adjacent rooms was heavily intrusive. I have to say, from midnight until about 6am the place is as quiet s the grave...then the rude awakening as the hotel opens up again!

Room tip: Ask for upper floors away from street.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VS298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Location: The hotel is near to the Karl Theodor Bridge... and at the heart of the old city.... very close to all the attractions... very conveniently located.

The room: Our room was clean and cozy. And small pack of gummy bears for each guest was a nice touch. Unlike many other hotels, there was a complementary bottle of water and wine. These are small details which really made our stay a great one.

One might have issues as it is next to the street but we had none what so ever. It gets quiet after 11 pm.

The people are warm and very friendly at the hotel.

The hotel also has a nice restaurant and is also located close to a lot of other restaurants, and cafes.

Overall a very nice place to stay and enjoy the beautiful city of Heidelberg.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Manosij2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We had a delightful stay in this hotel which is in a perfect location for enjoying old town Heidelberg. The owner is fantastic, very friendly and helpful. She and her family live at the hotel. Room was very comfortable if somewhat noisy at night. Ask for a room on the back side if you are a light sleeper. We enjoyed seeing the street activity from our room.

Breakfast was lite. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, we ate there both nights of out stay. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Heidelberg!

Room tip: Rooms that front are noisy at night. Ask for room on back if light sleeper.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

really enjoyed our short stay at Hackteufel. The staff were great, one of them was actually from England. The bedroom was smart clean and tidy. Overlooking the main street, which had read could be very noisy late at night, but had no problems. (Ear plugs are supplied as a courtesy). The restaurant service was swift and friendly and breakfast was a varied selection of foods, typical for the region, very nice.

Room tip: use the complementary ear plugs if you are a light sleeper or ask for rooms at the rear.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Red_Tel_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews