We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
64
52
17
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
52
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old bridge big church gummy bears quieter room noisy street street side two night stay rooms are nice noisy at night small hotel excellent location the river noise castle alte university german
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

My daughter was here for a year studying at Heidelberg University. We wanted a place close by to visit with her. What a charming authentic place to be able to stay. In the middle old town. Breakfast included and an easy walk to the castle. I couldnt be happier with this lively charming place!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moni3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We arrived at the hotel to find that our reservation did not exist (100% my fault - I accidentally cancelled it) and the hotel was fully booked. The owner was great and immediately called around to find us another hotel right close by. She actually walked us there and made sure everything was OK. The next day we went back to Hackteufel for lunch and had a nice meal. We had the Onion Cake, which is a fall special that you have with the new wine (known as Federweisser & Zwiebelkuchen in German). It was an interesting blend of onions, egg, & a thin crust. We enjoyed it. The staff was great and we will try to stay here the next time we visit Heidelberg.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCtravelnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We made a family weekend in Heidelberg and found this Hotel perfectly located near the Old Bridge (Alte Brücke). After a nice breakfast you have the energy climbing the hills both sides of the river Neckar.
the people are helpful and supportive, the rooms are clean and old style. We were on a low level without view but with a small terrace and a lot of space to sit together with the kids. The front side rooms with windows to the street may suffer from the vivid nightlife of Heidelberg.

Room Tip: we found the spacy room number 3 on 1st floor towards the back side perfect for family gathering.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matwen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Well the pros of this in place include the location, central to everything, the food at the restaurant is very delicious, breakfast is fabulous, most of the people who work your friendly, rooms are very clean. The cons included small rooms however adequate for one person, mattress is a bit hard for me, very noisy street below, no air conditioning which is necessary in the summer, as the fans are not adequate unfortunately. If you have a room on the street side you are going to get noise that drifts up to you especially on the weekends. I didn't sleep much last night even though they included some earplugs in the room… You can still hear the noise. All in all my stay was very nice apart from one incident with a rude waiter at the restaurant.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

this was a great little hotel right above the restaurant, our room was very comfortable and bathroom was good, there can be a lot of street noise at night, hotel provides earplugs, a room fan would be helpful for noise.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews