We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet la Foret

Traditional and spacious living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional and spacious living room
The living room seen from the balcony doors Relax in our huge garden with furniture, hammock and picnic table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Traditional and spacious living room
The living room seen from the balcony doors
Relax in our huge garden with furniture, hammock and picnic table
Magical colouring in the snowy twilight
Brevent and Flegere make a spectacular backdrop on one side of the valley
Wood fired, cedar tiled barrel sauna with outdoor shower for summer
The sauna in winter
Kitchen with big pine table
Log fire in kitchen
Downstairs bathroom is a wet room with walk in shower and exposed granite walls
The mazot is a charming self contained bedroom for two - perfect for peace and quiet
Inside the mazot
Mazot en-suite in slate and granite
Upstairs bathroom has double sinks, shower, bath and separate WC
The Dru - seen wreathed in clouds - from the balcony
Mont Blanc from the front bedroom window
Winter sunset from the garden
Cool drinks on the balcony
On the balcony in the evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JJBBMOW
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed with 2 other families in this gorgeous chalet! I highly highly recommend. Martha was excellent to deal with. Chris the property manager was responsive and great. The place is gorgeous, well situated, and comfortable. Beds comfortable. Lots of nice touches to make our staff even better than we thought. Close to bus, train.. Nothing negative to say.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliseStep...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Chalet in every way”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Chalet La foret is lovely in every way. The chalet is spacious and can accomodate a large party and nicely decorated. The kitchen is well appointed. There is a fire place on the ground floor/kitchen that gives it a real chalet feel.
There are a sauna and hot tub outside.
Martha and her husband are charming hosts and can refer a guide Neil who is very good for glacier walking.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toaster80...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A delightful haven in the forest - the perfect base for Chamonix”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The joy of Chalet La Foret is that it combines a secluded green haven with ready access to everything Chamonix has to offer. The chalet itself is beautifully presented and equipped with the very best throughout; indeed attention to detail and excellent taste are very much Martha's hallmark. We particularly enjoyed the 'spa' facilities - the hot tub and wonderful woodland sauna. The Mazot is warm and comfortable for a couple looking for a little seclusion away from the main party. What you see on the very helpful Chalet La Foret website is precisely what you get.

Martha was wonderfully flexible and patient while we vacillated over our arrangements. Based on site she offered excellent advice and support throughout our holiday; indeed nothing proved too much trouble.

This is a tranquil location and a really comfortable chalet for an active group that is relatively self-contained and enjoys exploring; it would not suit those that require everything immediately on their doorstep. Given the beautiful setting we can see it has excellent potential for a summer visit - and we hope to be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the chalet and its facilities, and the wonderful setting
Liked least: Difficult to say......
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cg297
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxurious chalet with lovely owners who pay great attention to detail”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I can now see why most of the other reviewers are returning visitors to Chalet La Foret. I am almost reluctant to write too exuberant a review in case the chalet gets all booked up before I get my 2016 booking in!

For me, there are two things which make it stand out from your typical self-catered alpine chalet.

Firstly, Martha is an absolute delight to deal with. From the moment we contacted her to enquire about the chalet, she has replied to every email promptly and made us feel like no question/request is too big or small. Just one example - when I emailed to ask if they had weighing scales for baking in the chalet, she replied by asking me if I liked this particular model and that she would purchase it if we did. We really got the sense that Martha and Nick genuinely cared about all the little details to ensure that we had a good holiday. Also, Martha and Nick clearly have good relationships with other business owners in the area which meant that we benefitted from their recommendations for a ski guide (Neil Hitchings was fantastic!) and airport transfers. After a bad experience with another chalet last year, we loved having trustworthy and excellent chalet owners to liaise with.

Secondly, the chalet is absolutely beautiful and furnished tastefully and luxuriously. From the fairy lights to the lovely bed linen to the le creuset crockery to the cow print cushions. I particularly loved the herringbone throw and will shortly be ordering it from my local John Lewis! It's almost a shame we spent so much time skiing and didn't just spend the whole week relaxing in the chalet. The hot tub and sauna were also big plus points for us.

Downsides - the two downstairs bedrooms were small and not at all sound-proofed from one another (but I wonder if this could be addressed by covering up the gap in the door between the two rooms). The room with the bunk beds also didn't have any hanging facilities (even some coat hooks would have been nice). Also, compared to other places we have stayed in before, the chalet felt a bit isolated. Which is part of the charm, but it meant it was more difficult to just pop to the shop or to the boulangerie for a breakfast croissant.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, luxurious chalet”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Four generations of our family spent a wonderful Christmas at the Chalet La Foret. The chalet is in a brilliant location, close to the Flegere ski lift, Chamonix town centre and the main road that runs through the valley, with stunning views from the garden and forest walks all around.

The chalet is very luxurious (awesome hot tub, sauna, very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, etc) but also very homely. Everything was provided for our 10 month old baby which was absolutely fantastic.

Nick and Martha are great hosts and strike the perfect balance between being welcoming and friendly and letting you have the space and peace to make yourself truly at home.
We really didn't want to leave and would definitely come again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Thank you so much, Emily, it was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family! I am so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and hope very much to see you back in Chamonix in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing