We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - thanks Nigel!”
other travellers have booked this property
Winter view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winter view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Winter view
Summer view
Garden visitor
Log burner
Cosy double bed
Alpine Rose's
Spring view
Spring view
View from garden
View from garden
View from garden
View from garden
View from garden
View from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joe E
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic - thanks Nigel!”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My partner and I stayed in this little chalet for a week in January and had an excellent stay. Nigel is a great host, very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The chalet is a short walk (5 minutes) from the main 'high street' of Chamonix yet it is sufficiently tucked out of the way that it is actually in a very quiet location. It is also a short walk to the bus stop, for access to ski lifts in the winter months in particular. The cabin is small, but cosy and perfect for a couple. The kitchenette is very small but we were still able to cook some massive post-skiing meals. The log burner is efficient and kept the cabin extremely snug (- there are also electric heaters too, but we didn't need to use these.) Nigel's recommendation for ski gear hire was also really helpful. We'll definitely return, perhaps this time in the summer for walking. It is obviously not a 'modern' option i.e., no television, but that, for us at least, was definitely part of the attraction. One small criticism along this line is that the wifi connection was not particularly good - but I think that might be an issue for the entire valley. Overall a very enjoyable, comfortable and relatively inexpensive place to stay in Chamonix!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for the review and I am glad you enjoyed the stay.

I am sorry about the wifi. It has been quite frustrating in the last few weeks but it appears it is a valley wide problem. Hopefully the powers that be will make some changes to it in the near future.

Summer is great time here so I hope to meet you both again sometime.

Cheers Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniedevi...
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cham-tastic”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just back from Chalet Alpine Rose what a beautiful place for some rest and recuperation. We're not skiers but if we were this place is central to all activity.... a 3-4 minute walk into town centre but quiet enough to feel like you're miles away and at one with nature. Warm cosy and lots of wood stacked up outside the door to feed the wood burning stove. Nigel the owner messaged us the night before our stay to double check arrival details and told us if we had any problems finding the chalet to call him and he would find us. Tell me what hotel would add that personal touch? He was nearby really so helpful with any information when we needed it but also totally unobtrusive. He has the balance so right. He really made our stay a wonderful experience! Thankyou to Nigel and to anyone thinking about booking stop thinking and just do it. You won't be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for the review and for staying.

I hope to meet you both again sometime. Perhaps a Summer visit?

Cheers Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joff s
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway, perfect location”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The location is sensational, close to everything but far enough away for privacy. Perfect cabin for two with plenty of room. Great views wherever you look out from. Nigel very kindly picked us up from local station after advising us best station to alight at, gave us some tour trips and made sure had enough firewood to keep us going and warm. Plenty of hot water, heating and enough room in kitchen to cook for two. Only things missing were snow and squirrels! Thanks again Nigel. Had a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Dear Joff.

Thank you very much for the review. I hope to meet you both again. It was great to see you making so much of your stay here..
And it snowed today, too late for you I am afraid.

Cheers Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11AnneP20...
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally unsympathetic owner”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having paid in full for our holiday, due to the death of my husbands mother, we were not able to take it . I explained the exceptional situation to the owner with one week's notice, and to ask if he could make a refund due to the circumstances. I found his attitude totally unsympathetic, merely offering to readvertise his chalet. So in effect, he has profited from our absence as he has had no costs to pay, laundry, changeover costs etc

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
This review forum is for clients who have stayed in a property. These reviewers did not stay in our chalet. I will however reply anyway.

To clarify the cancellation was made some three weeks before the date of the booking and was for one of the peak weeks in August.

On booking the reviewers agreed to a standard Tripadvisor booking contract which does not allow refunds within four weeks.

I agreed out of goodwill to re-advertise the property and refund the difference in rent if it re-booked. It however did not book again so was empty for the booking period.
On the subject of changeover costs as we carry out the changeovers ourselves there was minimal real saving especially as the property required cleaning again after being empty for that period.
We did however have to carry out considerable extra admin in re-advertising and replying to messages such as this.

I am sorry for their loss and inability to take the booking but I believe that their travel insurance would cover their costs for accommodation and flights in the event of a loss in the family, not the property owner or come to that the airline or ferry company etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCalpin
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just come back from an amazing break in Chamonix and miss it already! Nigel was great from our initial enquiry, responding fast and made the booking process very easy. He was very accommodating and gave us some great suggestions for places to go and visit.

Chamonix is a beautiful place to go, and even towards the end of September there was still things to do and see, and having lovely weather with clear blue skies for the duration of the trip was a massive bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for the review. I think late Summer/Autumn is my favorite time of year here...much quieter but usually high pressure so sunny days with plenty to do as you discovered.
Hope to meet you both again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing