We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ty Newydd y Llwyn

Front view overlooking the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view overlooking the garden
the oak-beamed kitchen, table set for lunch, overlooking the garden. after a day of walking and exploring, relax by the wood-burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Front view overlooking the garden
the oak-beamed kitchen, table set for lunch, overlooking the garden.
after a day of walking and exploring, relax by the wood-burner
bathroom with original cast-iron bath and ultra-modern shower
late afternoon sun in the kitchen
the double room with very comfy pine bed, overlooking the garden
twin bedroom with pine rafters above comfy beds
view of cottage from the south showing misty hills in spring, 2013
a wintry scene taken from behind the cottage with Denbigh in the distance
panorama from top field behind cottage, dog enjoys views of Snowdonia and Vale of Clwyd
a summer view of the Vale from Moel y Parc above the cottage
a snowy Moel y Parc with cottage located just to the right of red-brick house in centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodfari, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lotti2016
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Ty Newydd y Llwyn for 4 nights before heading further south for the Hay Festival. It was our first proper holiday in Wales, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to call home for our few days in the north of the country. The hosts were so welcoming too, and very helpful when it came to giving us advice about where to visit in the area. Bodfari is really well linked to so many wonderful tourist spots, as well as some lesser-known hidden treasures - that's if you can tear yourself away from the comforts of this lovely cottage. The decor is unique and beautiful, and the garden is a gorgeous place to spend a summer's evening. We can't wait to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The drive up to the cottage, but this can't be helped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both to stay. Yes, there's plenty to do in the area. Thanks for giving N Wales the thumbs up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little cottage on Offa's Dyke”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This wonderful little cottage is ideal for walkers of Offa's Dyke being just yards from the path. The welcome we received from Judith and Oliver was exceptional, as was the Lemon Drizzle cake!
The cottage itself is warm and cosy and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We stayed for three days and wished it could have been longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and welcome
Liked least: No pub within walking distance!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage - Home from Home”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just returned from a 4 day stay in this wonderful cottage. Cosy, warm & very homely with everything required for a delightful stay. Really comfortable bed and so peaceful that we almost overslept for breakfast! Judith & Oliver were very welcoming with home made cake on arrival and nothing too much trouble. Perfect base for walking or travelling further afield to Anglesey. Can't fault anything about our stay - we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andsim123
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stuning place lovely setting only matched by the warm and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

what a lovely place to stay, a lovely setting with outstanding views the place itself is finished to a very high standard with every little detail thought out carefully judith and oliver certainly know how to host their guests with tea and cake on arrival and the breakfast was stunning

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“one of the best cottages we have stayed in”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our entire 4 day stay was the height of pleasure, from the warm reception with the delicious cake, to our departure, much refreshed and rested. The cottage is a haven of peace, off the beaten track, with views to the hills, and is an ideal base for exploring the wonderful countryside. It has been restored to a very high standard, combining character and comfort: the joy of the deep bath and so comfortable bed after a long day's walk! The large bright kitchen is a cook's delight. The owners have obviously devoted a lot of attention to detail, and just ooze with hospitality, full of information and going out of their way to be helpful. We are very experienced travellers, at all levels, and this is one of the few venues we plan to revisit. It would be a joy in all seasons, sitting in the garden or cosy by the fire. Can highly recommend a stay.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing