We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place, lovely people”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caromb, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Louisa K
1 review
“Lovely place, lovely people”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were made to feel very welcome by Ian, Axelle and June. A fascinating building, our apartment was very well kitted out. A great area for cycling and sightseeing, we didn't want to leave!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Graz, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, charming”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

"Le vieil hopital" means the old hospital and date from the XVI century, in fact! Nevertheless, the hosts manage to fulfill all modern needs, from high-speed internet to modern kitchen, bathroom etc. Axelle and Ian are most charming hosts and very nice people, always helpful with insider tips for getting to know the Provence.
Though this accomodation is not very cheap, it´s excellent value for your money.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Unique Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful large apartment with charming outdoor space. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. My wife and I were travelling in southern France for 3 weeks and this was one of our most memorable stays. We really enjoyed spending time with the owners and hearing about the history of their home.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: How unique the property was
Liked least: Bathroom was a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadCan...
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our extended family rented 2 apartments from Ian and Axelle as a base to explore this part of Provence. We had no problems booking and finding the accommodation and we were welcomed warmly on our arrival. Ian and Axelle and their little girl are wonderfully warm hosts. The apartments are part of their home and they provide very warm, comfortable but self-contained accommodation. We loved the small village of Caromb and the apartments are an easy (if uphill!) walk to the town centre. It proved to be a great base for the exploration by bike and car of the surrounding area. What Ian and Axelle offer, as well as beautiful, clean and comfortable accommodation is a beautiful family ambience. We enjoyed a wine with them and listened to Axelle's beautiful music but their hospitality and interest in our family was not intrusive. Ian and Axelle provided us with lots of information and advice when we asked for it. We really enjoyed our stay at Le Vieil Hopital and would recommend it to couples and families looking for a stay that is off the beaten track with a beautiful family in an historic, wonderfully renovated building. We will definitely return when we are lucky enough to return to this gorgeous part of the world.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the accommodation and the warmth of the hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.