We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful”
other travellers have booked this property
Wonderful Terrace with views of the Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderful Terrace with views of the Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Wonderful Terrace with views of the Bay
Bath and shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peonyegg
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned home from our stay at Petite Tresor.On arrival we were greeted by Sue and a given a familiarization tour of the apartment.Petite Tresor is a beautiful apartment.It is obvious that much thought has been put into making it the perfect home away from home.We were overwhelmed at the amount of unexpected little extra touches of comfort and conveniences supplied.The decor, appliances, comfy bed, lovely bathroom with rain shower made our stay delightful.The balcony with superb view made dining day and night special.
The terrain of Villefrance is steep. Access from the car park made it easier with only 60 very steep footsteps to negotiate. One tip to help with luggage handling, have your driver drop and pick you up in the car park.Thank you Sue for your kindness and sharing thecbeautiful Petite Tresor with us for one week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Looking forward to welcoming more of you soon!
Mattie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S
New York City, New York
1 review
“Five Star!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The pictures do not do the apartment justice. It is beautifully appointed, impeccable and provides everything one needs for a comfortable stay. I chose the apartment for its proximity to the Institut de Francais (it directly faces the school's garden entrance), but i was delighted to discover how convenient it is to shopping and transportation, and how quickly one could walk to the port. (I had attended the Institut last year, and was already familiar with the hill situation.) The balcony is the highlight. My boyfriend joined me for a week's visit after the school session and we especially enjoyed having drinks or dinner overlooking the Mediterranean and the Rade, with a great view of fireworks, too!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Will be taking new pictures as soon as we can .........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhatIKnow
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Parfait”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed (solo) at this lovely, light, updated, well laid out apartment for 4 weeks - yes while attending L'Institut directly across the upper road. Sue arranged transportation from the airport and met me at the apartment. I so appreciated the gesture after traveling solo and having made a zillion other arrangements. The view of the bay, St Jean Cap Ferret and the sea beyond from the spacious outdoor patio is breathtaking any time of the day. The remodeled kitchen is large and has a full size refrig (FR style), a wonderful gas oven and stove top, the tumbled marble walled bathroom was recently remodeled as well. The bedroom has ample closet space, a comfortable mattress and down pillows and comforter. The building is built up the hillside (as much of Villefranche is) and has an elevator off the ground floor parking lot. Personally I preferred to walk up to the main building door. There is an energy efficient washing machine, dishwasher and steam heat. The building is quiet and the neighbors are residents. Le Petit Tresor is the best housing possible for L'Institut as far as comfort and proximity. If you cannot get into Petit Tresor ask Sue for other recommendations including one of Shelley's apartments in the village. Do not rent through the L'Institut unless you are in your 20's and do not require much sleep, hot water, electricity... I met students who rented through l'ecole and changed their locations 2 & 3 times. I plan to return in the near future and will stay at Le Petit Tresor whether I return to the L'Institut or not. A bientot Sue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bright, clean, layout, location, view, comfort, size
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
Another wonderful review which is testament to this great apartment - especially for Institut attendees! Hope to see you soon.......... You should also check out my new revised website villefranche vacation. Mattie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YooperLJ
La Jolla California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment (a few cautions)”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Petit Tresor is a perfect, lovely and well-stocked vacation rental. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The location is within a reasonable walking distance to any local shops, the bus, taxis, a pharmacy, boulangerie, and even a nail salon. The pace is slow which suited me perfectly.

Sue, who is the owner of the apartment went out of her way to make my stay as pleasant as possible and helped me get to Italy, shared dinner at a great restaurant and is a lovely lovely person. She was prompt in her replies to my endless questions and all-in-all everything was satisfactory.

There is ample storage in the bedroom closet, the bed is extremely comfortable, the kitchen, a dream, and the view breathtaking over the water.

What I would advise to make it even more fabulous:

1. Make sure that you are very comfortable with walking long distances and up the goat hill that serves the apartment complex. I counted, and it's 650 steps straight up. Great exercise and I lost 15 pounds but if you're carrying groceries, you'll be hurtin'.

2. Coming from Nice airport: If you take the train and have difficulty walking, you will find it rough going to get to the apartment. Take a cab, the bus or arrange for transport from the airport. Sue will arrange this for, at the time, 50eu. (He was a great driver)

3. The bus stop is just down the aforementioned goat hill to the property so it's easy peasy. Ignore what everybody says about when to take it - it's ALWAYS packed. The routes are easy to follow and you can get to Monaco in about 15-30 minutes. Nice? Another story:

4. Getting to Nice by bus. This dang route changes with the hours of the week, but I took it several times and usually, get off at the marina and then cross your fingers and sit at the marina stop to get back. I can't remember the bus numbers now but I think it's 100 or 80. Sorry. Nice is kind of a waste of time, for me. Really dirty and touristy but a good place to get trinkets for folks back home (magnets, key chains, ash trays). You'll find a couple of good restaurants there but I'll have to look at my travel diary and mention them elsewhere. Had a great lunch and there's a super italian joint.

5. Be VERY careful with how you arrange your payment before you rent this place. I found myself dealing with two separate individuals and, at times, the exchange went through a London bank and other times through a euro and I got hosed financially against the GBP. Be very firm on only using euro exchange rates. I probably lost about $800 not knowing this.

6. There's a convenience store at the bottom of the hill of the apt that has long hours of closure during lunch but has some great baguettes, coffee, and some fresh fruit but remodeled the last week I was there and has expanded a lot of their goodies. It's a great place to pick up food when you fall off the bus and face the hill towards home to pick up an instant dinner (microwave in apt is great).

7. Get a car if you're going to be there for a long time. I was there two months and wish I had done it. The public transport is fine but you don't get a real feel for the countryside and Eze/Grasse would've been more fun with a car. Rent one for a week anyway. Or a scooter which are everywhere.

All in all, that's all I can think of for now, but will add more later if necessary and welcome any questions.

There is great wifi in the place, the oven is a marvel, the terrace perfection, washer works great, bathroom is lovely with the usual half-glass coverage for showering but quite nice. The neighbors can see in the bedroom so close those at night. There are blackout metal closures in the living room which I enjoyed and cured my jet lag.

Enjoy your stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Carrefour food delivery and Casino chocolate bars
Liked least: Crowded transportation for late winter but ok I guess
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing