We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We must be mad to tell you about this hidden gem”
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection Sun spotting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Bienvenue a l'Escalinade!
Poolside Parasol Perfection
Sun spotting
Al fresco breakfasts always available
Your sunset view from l'Escalinade's terrasse
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No.2
Perfect Blue Skies over St Tropez Bay
Ste Maxime Marina
Summertime refreshment
Poolside or seaside...
Chill-out Zone
Bastille Day celebrations
Plage de Ste Maxime
First sight of St Tropez from the sea
Amuses-bouches
Giraglia Rolex Yachting Cup Race
Cheese & wine obligatory!
Aioli & Crudites - Bon Appetit Provencal Style
view from the sun-soaked terrasse
laidback at l'escalinade
Chambre d'Eau
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 2
Chambre No. 1
Chambre No. 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sainte-Maxime, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
cas2814
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We must be mad to tell you about this hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we will be sorry we wrote about this real "find" of a B&B because in the future we wont be able to get a booking. But it is a "find". The villa with pool is lovely which you can see from the photos, and the position is perfect in Ste Maxime, you can walk into town where there are many super places to eat and beaches, plus you can get the ferry to St Tropez. But it is the hosts Joan and John + their wonderful dog Ronnie, who make the place so special. The rooms are not large or lavish but are clean and bright and Joan and John deliver a super home made continental breakfast with home made jams and croissants.
Each room has a fridge which is very useful and it is a lovely place to go with friends, which we did, or for a romantic break. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: the view position and hosts
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are really looking forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgegod
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and elegantly decorated rooms with amazing views over the bay to St Tropez”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Charming and elegantly decorated rooms with amazing views over the bay to St Tropez and a warm welcome. L'Escalinade is perfectly placed. Perched above the town it is a tranquil retreat but only a short walk in to the bustling centre of St Maxime and the beach.

The food was delicious and the hosts friendly and knowledgeable about the area with loads of good recommendations of what to see and do. The pool and surrounding gardens are beautiful and well maintained. We particularly enjoyed playing petanque and hanging out with Ronnie the dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenofea...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic setting and great hospitality”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I could not believe our luck when I came across this lovely B&B which could accommodate my husband and I for 3 nights at less than 24 hours notice. Moreover, when we arrived (hot and sweaty) Joan and John were ready with chilled wine and canapes ensuring we relaxed as quickly as possible. The room with en suite was not the largest, but was clean and bright with a LARGE fridge (for our olive, bread and cheese lunches) and you really can lie in bed gazing across the gulf of st tropez. However very little time was spent inside because the garden and pool was so lovely and that was where we had breakfast - lots of fresh fruit, bread, croissants,and homemade jam.
Joan and John are full of information, advice and local knowledge on what to see and where to go. Escalinade is hidden away less than 5 minutes walk from the main part of the town and seafront. We had a lovely time in Ste Maxime and also took the ferry to St Tropez to watch the "super yachts" coming in from the balcony bar at Hotel Sube.
Nothing was too much trouble for Joan and John and we look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the setting!
Liked least: small bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorian...
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great welcome and fantastic views”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A warm welcome, helpful owners, Air conditioning, the shops and restaurants within a 3 minute walk but very quiet at night...what more do you want?

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireF...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La vie en rosé”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Everything that has been written is perfectly true! We've only been home for a day and we're already planning our next stay there.
Joan and John are marvellous hosts and Mr Ronnie is absolutely delightful.
Their main goal is to ensure that you have a brilliant time and they well and truly suceed.
They welcomed us into their lovely home as friends and we were very sorry to leave.
Life doesn't get much better than sharing rosé and nibbles on their beautiful terrace overlooking the gulf of St. Tropez! Take in a dip in the wonderful pool which feels as though you are swimming in fine light pink rosé.
Excellent facilities, only a short stroll to the centre and their knowledge of the local area is second to none.
Thank you again for a wondeful stay- next time, we'll stay for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;