We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is how you would imagine staying in the...”

Review of Cathedrale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MDyson67
1 review
“This is how you would imagine staying in the heart of the Old Town”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful apartment with all the facilities you need. The location is perfect in the heart of the Old Town. So many bars & restaurants to choose from pretty much on your doorstep. Surprisingly quiet. 81 steps up to the apartment are v do-able & the reward is the terrace - ideal for breakfast or evening drinks. Getting to the train station is v easy by using the frequent & cheap trams at Opera, a 5 mins walk away. Am already planning the next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOTS of stairs!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment sits in a very lovely area of Nice. Lots of charm. However, to say that there are five flights of stairs is a downplay of what you have to do to get into this apartment. The stairs are crooked uneven in height and VERY difficult to get luggage up and down. The charm of the neighborhood wears off quickly when you realize you are right next to a huge bell tower that seemingly has no rhyme or reason as to when it rings. Sometimes for five minutes or more. The lovely little eateries below produce great food, but also produce soot out the stack on the roof all over the lovely patio which deemed it unusable. Riviera Pebbles is really stingy with linens, so cleaning up of the soot was always a problem. They expect you to bring in the cushions off the patio when you are not using it, which is a pain and takes up a lot of the space inside this very small apartment. Overall the apartment wasn't very clean and owner areas were in terrible disarray and unpleasant to view. Washing machine in apartment was very difficult to run and along with the soot situation I left there with several outfits of clothes ruined. We rented for ten days, the area is worth seeing but a real hassle to deal with for more than a day or two. I would recommend staying on the other side of the Plaza Massena, and walking over to the Old Town area to visit. Also walking areas in Old Town are VERY uneven, you see a lot of orthopedic walking boots on tourists, be careful and prepared to watch where you are going. Riviera Pebbles really should be a little more generous with guests staying more than a day or two with linens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the atmosphere of the neighborhood
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
We’re sorry you felt we were “stingy” with linens. We have chosen to structure Pebbles so that guests receive one set of linen and towels for their stay (and the price decreases depending on length of stay) and then allow guests to order as many extra linen and towel packages that suit them. This means all guests can have a fresh set of linen and towels daily if they so wish, but for an extra cost of course.
We’ve had Cathedrale on our books for four years now, and we’ve never had this soot issue mentioned before, but we’ll look into it and see what we can do. Perhaps the restaurant had some sort of fire and this was a one-off.
We do ask guests to bring in the cushions from outside if they want to avoid them getting wet or dirty whilst they are out. We do this to try and make guests stay as comfortable as possible, because even though this is the French Riviera there can be rain which will soak the cushion covers through, or stain them.
The bell tower – we’re saddened that you didn’t enjoy the ring of it, the apartment was named after it and we think a lot of guests choose to be near something so charming as part of the square below.
We know the stairs are a downside of the apartment, but without them, we couldn’t offer the view and terrace and so most of our guests think they are worth it.
We’re sorry this wasn’t the right apartment for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the decor and terrace
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your holiday in our Cathedrale apartment. We are delighted that you liked the furnishings and location of this wonderful apartment. Unfortunately, building regulations prohibit the installation of a lift, but we have included the stairs in our "What Guests Liked Least" section on our Pebbles Rentals website. We hope you enjoyed your time in Nice, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing