We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateauneuf du Pape wine tour”
Review of Provence and Wine

Provence and Wine
Ranked #2 of 45 Tours in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a unique and unforgettable wine experience in Provence. We organize small group custom guided wine tours of Provence in English.
Reviewed 28 October 2018

I had reserved a spot with Romain weeks in advance but it was mid week and beginning of slow season so no one else signed up. Yet he did not let me down and took me anyway. Romain is a very engaging personality and because he is from this magical part of the world he has a passion for what he does that makes it a pleasure to listen and learn from him. We had access to things that other more commercial groups may not see. As I said he grew up here, he knows most of the proprietors or winemakers personally and they welcome him in. Romain provides other wine related services as well. For me this couldn't have worked out better. Thank you Romain!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank brianfl00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"chateauneuf du pape"
in 114 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 23 reviews
"full day tour"
in 19 reviews
"highly recommend his tour"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful chateau"
in 4 reviews
"his passion"
in 10 reviews
"delightful lunch"
in 3 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 9 reviews
"grew up"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 11 reviews
"grape varieties"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 9 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 3 reviews
"learned a great deal"
in 3 reviews
"comfortable van"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018

We had a wonderful visit with Romain this past weekend. He is knowledgeable, personable, fun, connected and relaxed. We were a group of two wine lovers and two people in the industry and he made it entertaining for everyone. We learned a lot, met some interesting wine personalities and gained some new favorite wines. Romain was inclusive of our four year-old son, too, which we really appreciated.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dixie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our half-day Chateauneuf-du-Pape wine tour led by Romain, whose knowledge, enthusiasm, and willingness to answer questions made the experience special. Our first stop on the tour was a vineyard, where we learned about the characteristics of soil and climate, and also tasted grapes that were about to be harvested. After that, we tasted wine at a small winery and a chateau, and Romain provided informative comments about the characteristics of each wine while soliciting our impressions, as well. In all, an excellent tour that shouldn't be missed!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Romain is simply the best. You know somebody is an expert when they are able to tailor their message to any audience: dial up the technical lingo when around other experts, and simplify the message when around novices. Romain has been able to successfully turn his passion into a business, and it shows.

His tour easily bested any wine tour we've been on before (including tours in Napa and Tuscany).

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

My sister and I took Romain's full day tour and loved it. He is very knowledgeable, entertaining and personable. We both highly recommend his tour - a great way to spend the day in Provence.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Provence and Wine also viewed

 

Been to Provence and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing