We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely week at Souvadou”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avignon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
BertieBro...
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely week at Souvadou”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have been happier with our week staying with our very kind hosts Michel & Francoise. They made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home, cooking us wonderful evening meals and giving us great advice on local sight seeing. Our 11 year old daughter Mary loved the swimming pool and playing with the very friendly dogs. Souvadou is very convenient for Avignon and the surrounding area and we had great days out, returning later in the afternoon to enjoy the pool and garden.
Thank you Michel & Francoise for a fantastic time, we hope to return soon!
Jane, Frank & Mary

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate d
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic honeymoon, perfect surroundings and exceptional hospitality”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to take our honeymoon in the South of France and this holiday cottage had fantastic reviews. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, as Michel and Francois are exceptional hosts. The evening meals, which came with free wine/drinks were home cooked french cuisine, often made from ingredients from Michel's garden. We ate at the cottage 4 nights out of 6, because the meals were so enjoyable and reasonably priced. The cottage overlooks the Rhone valley which includes views of Chateauneuf du Pape and Avignon. We hired a car (which is necessary) but our advice would be to insist on as small a car as necessary as the roads are very thin and windy! We would recommend this holiday to anyone wanting to get away and relax in the tranquil settings of Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamTravel...
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing stay with Michel & Françoise at their beautiful home with pool. We stopped here for 3 nights during our month long Europe trip. The town is charming, the pool and views were so beautiful and the hosts are now like family! We rented the entire upstairs for 2 adults and 3 children and they treated us like family. What a wonderful stay and we really hope to visit again in the future. Wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property with kind and helpful hosts!
Liked least: We loved everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigcoll
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful.”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my partner and our young son have just returned from a four night stay with Michel and Francoise and would recommend this to anyone who loves peace and quiet, tranquility and a relaxing stay. The house and grounds are magnificent. Sitting outside each night on the terrace, eating dinner and drinking wine whilst being serenaded by cicadas and the warm gentle breeze will not be forgotten. These memories will forever be cherished. Thank you Michel and Francoise for a truly wonderful stay, it was fantastic. We were made to feel so welcomed and the care you took with our son was just lovely.
On a practical note, having your own car for this area is a must. We saw some amazing sites, all within an easy drive from this place. Avignon is 15min away, the hill top village of Chateauneuf-du-Pape 10min. The Pont du Gard is a must but Michel's knowledge of this area will suffice in terms of putting together an itinerary. The cooling pool was just what
Was needed at the end of a hot day. There's also an outdoor cooking area if you wanted to cook but both Michel and Francoise's cooking was superb - really traditional French meals. We ate there every night and were impressed with each meal (Michel's cheeses were superb).
Our one year old son loved the dogs abaya and Oscar - even if you're not an animal person this would not be a problem . The dogs were very gentle.

If we ever return to Avignon (perhaps next summer again), we will certainly return and stay here. I would recommend this if you want to get a real sense of Provençal life, and savour a few special moments away.

Thank you Michel and Francoise.
Colleen and Simon

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnandPara...
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable stay, absolutely wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights at Avignon with Michel & Francoise at their lovely B&B. They were such wonderful hosts, making us feel at home right through our stay. The house is big (we didn't use many parts of it) and the rooms clean and tastefully done. It is located 15 minutes away from the town in a quiet neighborhood, away from all the distractions of the city. A rental car would make it easy to go around, but we could not manage one because of the long weekend. Michel made sure that we did not have a problem because of that. He picked us up from the TGV station (and dropped us back when we left) and even dropped us to the town a couple of times.

Breakfast was simple and nice, and dinners more elaborate and often garnished with fresh herbs from the garden. The house has a pool and my 3 year old enjoyed his time there. We also chose to take a day long ride with Michel through the countryside and the places were gorgeous with all the vineyards and cherry trees..

Overall a wonderful experience, with a wonderful family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing