We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes
Save
Review Highlights
Unforgettable Experience

Cooking with Jean-Marc was one of the highlights of our honeymoon! Jean-Marc and his wife welcomed... read more

Reviewed 24 November 2018
smiths2019
Cooking Class in Provence

My wife and I planned this day with Jean-Marc's class during our honeymoon. We went to a lot of fun... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2018
jfherri
,
Wilmington, North Carolina
Read all 271 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Avignon
from US$81,00
More Info
from US$133,07
More Info
from US$45,13
More Info
from US$127,28
More Info
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
268
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his lovely wife co op french cuisine course meal local farmers wonderful hosts professional kitchen amuse bouche master chef fresh ingredients highly recommend this class madeleines their beautiful home highlight of our trip quality control wonderful meal patient teacher
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

The day was rich in experience. Alice and Jean-Marc are very kind and ready to share their knowledge about French food. I recommande !

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Chutima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your kind review. Hope you will be a French cuisine ambassador in your country !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Went to the local farmeres market and we got an excellent hands on Tour.This made all the other days spent at other markets pale, because we had a knowledgable chef and a fluent English and French speaker to help us tour the market.
Then we returned to his home/cooking school and made a delighful lunch.
This was a perfect day cooking, eating and enjoying my daughters birthday.
Would do again!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank crecolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your nice review. It was a pleasure to welcome you all at our home for a French culinary experience. Take care !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The food prepared by all attendees in complete team work was sublime, the instruction well-paced and within reach of even less experienced cooks. We prepared Zuccini flower chips as an appetizer, a savoury carrot cake with fennel as a starter, then a succulent veal chop with delicious sauce, alongside two scrumptious sides - one of potato with fig, the other of eggplant and tomato. For dessert, we made a stunning apricot frangipane tart. All were accompanied by excellent and well-chosen wines. An incredibly useful and interesting day of learning how to cook this Provencal menu... A wonderful experience in the warm hospitality of Jean-Marc and Alice.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Geo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to make this experience an excellent memory from Provence for you. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

When I say it was one of our best experiences when we were in the south of France this summer, I really mean it. This was more or less a full day activity, which started off with some tea and biscuits with Jean Marc and his wonderful wife Alice. He gave us an intro to his kitchen as well. The Villards' kitchen is basically a full blown professional kitchen, and impeccably clean and organized. The setting is idyllic, set in the peaceful countryside nestled next to the Luberon mountains.

Once everyone had arrived, we headed to the local organic market (filled with incredibly fresh and local goods). The class was more than just a cooking class - he introduced us to the region, the local produce and growers, and consider the interplay of the ingredients, the steps, new techniques, and of course plating. Throughout, Jean Marc was friendly and jovial, making sure we were well fed and involved in all aspects of the preparation of our lunch. The recipes were creative and absolutely delicious, and all the ingredients used were fresh and high quality.

I would highly recommend the experience to anyone regardless of whether or not they like to cook.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Junlong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for you very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoy your day very much. It is always a pleasure to share our knowledge about gastronomy and Provence and we always keep great memories of our groups. Take care !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This being my first cooking class it is hard to compare, but I can't see how much more we could learn in a day about local produce, cuisine and methods of preparation. We did about 95% of all that was needed to create a wonderful and delicious 3 course meal. Paired with fabulous local wines and a beautiful garden environment it was a true cooking in Provence experience. Our children 13 + 18 stayed involved the entire time and they have little cooking experience. The dishes were custom created by Jean Marc based on either traditional bases or unique recipe combinations.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank nobullnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for you kind review. Happy that your family enjoy their hands-on cooking class in Provence. Cheers to all of you !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews