We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip to the South of France”

Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes
Ranked #1 of 20 Food & Drink in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hands on cooking class near AVIGNON / FRANCE. Learn French Cuisine with Chef Jean-Marc, 10 years Chef and teacher at Paul Bocuse Institute.Chef Jean-Marc teaches in English and You will cook a three courses menu and share lunch with him and his wife Alice. He opened his cooking school for amateurs in Lyon in 2001 and now proposes cooking classes in the sunny and nice area : PROVENCE. Join him for a French culinary experience !
Reviewed 21 August 2018

What a unique, fun, edifying, relaxing and memorable day with Jean Marc and Alice. It was the highlight of our trip and a day that none of us will ever forget. We all were different levels of cooking/baking, yet everyone learned a great deal and had a fabulous time. Inventive food, gorgeous wine and great conversation. I will definitely book this again next time I'm in the region!

Thank I5491GQlorih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your kind review. Hope to see you again in the future !! Cheers to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"his lovely wife"
in 33 reviews
"co op"
in 19 reviews
"french cuisine"
in 18 reviews
"course meal"
in 16 reviews
"professional kitchen"
in 9 reviews
"master chef"
in 8 reviews
"wonderful hosts"
in 8 reviews
"local farmers"
in 9 reviews
"madeleines"
in 6 reviews
"seasonal produce"
in 5 reviews
"excellent chef"
in 5 reviews
"amuse bouche"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful meal"
in 6 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 16 reviews
"their beautiful home"
in 4 reviews
"teaching kitchen"
in 4 reviews
"highly recommend this class"
in 4 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018

The day was rich in experience. Alice and Jean-Marc are very kind and ready to share their knowledge about French food. I recommande !

Thank Chutima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your kind review. Hope you will be a French cuisine ambassador in your country !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Went to the local farmeres market and we got an excellent hands on Tour.This made all the other days spent at other markets pale, because we had a knowledgable chef and a fluent English and French speaker to help us tour the market.
Then we returned to his home/cooking school and made a delighful lunch.
This was a perfect day cooking, eating and enjoying my daughters birthday.
Would do again!

Thank crecolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your nice review. It was a pleasure to welcome you all at our home for a French culinary experience. Take care !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The food prepared by all attendees in complete team work was sublime, the instruction well-paced and within reach of even less experienced cooks. We prepared Zuccini flower chips as an appetizer, a savoury carrot cake with fennel as a starter, then a succulent veal chop with delicious sauce, alongside two scrumptious sides - one of potato with fig, the other of eggplant and tomato. For dessert, we made a stunning apricot frangipane tart. All were accompanied by excellent and well-chosen wines. An incredibly useful and interesting day of learning how to cook this Provencal menu... A wonderful experience in the warm hospitality of Jean-Marc and Alice.

Thank Geo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to make this experience an excellent memory from Provence for you. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

When I say it was one of our best experiences when we were in the south of France this summer, I really mean it. This was more or less a full day activity, which started off with some tea and biscuits with Jean Marc and his wonderful wife Alice. He gave us an intro to his kitchen as well. The Villards' kitchen is basically a full blown professional kitchen, and impeccably clean and organized. The setting is idyllic, set in the peaceful countryside nestled next to the Luberon mountains.

Once everyone had arrived, we headed to the local organic market (filled with incredibly fresh and local goods). The class was more than just a cooking class - he introduced us to the region, the local produce and growers, and consider the interplay of the ingredients, the steps, new techniques, and of course plating. Throughout, Jean Marc was friendly and jovial, making sure we were well fed and involved in all aspects of the preparation of our lunch. The recipes were creative and absolutely delicious, and all the ingredients used were fresh and high quality.

I would highly recommend the experience to anyone regardless of whether or not they like to cook.

Thank Junlong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefJeanMarc, Owner at Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for you very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoy your day very much. It is always a pleasure to share our knowledge about gastronomy and Provence and we always keep great memories of our groups. Take care !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes also viewed

 
Crillon-le-Brave, Vaucluse
 

Been to Jean Marc Villard's Cooking Class - Day Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing