We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brillliant”

Review of Cours Mirabeau

Looking down from the mezzanine onto living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking down from the mezzanine onto living room
View onto rooves from the apartment Living room with mezzanine above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Looking down from the mezzanine onto living room
View onto rooves from the apartment
Living room with mezzanine above
Living room and dining area behind
Bedroom 2
Living room
Bedroom 1
Hall
WC
Bathroom
View onto Cours Mirabeau from bedroom 2
View onto Cours Mirabeau from bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Dining table
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Kitchen from window end
Kitchen as you come in
Looking up Cours Mirabeau
Maire (Town/City Hall)
Mezzanine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EdwardAbb...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brillliant”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A commanding position right in the centre of Aix. Being on the top floor of an old “hotel” (mansion), the apartment gets lots of sun from both the southern side and front of the building – important for us in winter. Excellent views across rooftops, and especially down the Cours Mirabeau – where all sorts of things happened, including the Christmas chalets and parades.
Numerous classy shoe shops, hairdressers and opticians downstairs, plus every other possible shop. Top cakes at the corner of the building. Cafes and restaurants within a short walk - meaning a few steps - in every direction. A pleasant walk to the daily market, but markets to the front of the apartment three days weekly. You’d need many months to discover facilities even within a three-minute stroll, such as the Jeu de Paume theatre.
Spacious. Two complete bedrooms, as well as a sofa on the mezzanine, and a well-equipped kitchen. Well managed and maintained.
As well as a grand staircase, the building has a lift. As luck would have it, the lift was out of action once when we had to lug suitcases upstairs, and again when we finally left. After nearly three months there, we’d have to find a few irritations! Other than mentioning shouting in the street some nights, they would be churlish to hint at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location and spaciousness
Liked least: Occasional street noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen B
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was a dream. Two small bedrooms and two baths, wonderful living room with tons of gorgeous Aix light. Clean, well appointed, and the location could not be any better. It's right at the end of Cours Mirabeau and we could wake up on Saturday morning and watch the vendors set up shop for the morning. Or in the evening, watch the sun over the tree tops and the church steeple. Wonderful place. Full of life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bleeter
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the heart of the town”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with friends (four of us) for a week in Cours Mirabeau. The location was perfect and the apartment was great for two couples. There was a second toilet upstairs and there was plenty of room to relax in the living area at the end of the day. The kitchen was well equipped for the nights we spent at home and it was great having laundry facilities. Plenty of sunshine into the apartment. The only down side was that it was quite warm when we stayed and with the windows open the noise from the main street below was a little distracting late into the night. One suggestion to our hosts would be to have some hooks in the bathroom and bedrooms - there was nowhere to hang anything including our towels and limited space to unpack clothing. We would definitely stay there again and hope this gorgeous apartment is available when next we visit as Aix-en-Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Efficiency with booking details and location
Liked least: No hanging space and the lift was often out of order
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadameW38
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous city apartment in the heart of Aix”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

When we rented this apartment, we were not expecting much other than the convenience of the location( in the middle of Aix-en-Provence) and the cost (better than renting two hotel rooms for four people). My last vacation rentals gave me nightmares: lack of towels, mosquito infestation, hot water turned off in the middle of winter, child running into furniture due to lack of space, etc. This is the reason why we were pleasantly surprised by this wonderful place after a long drive into the ancient city of Aix from Nice.

The apartment is situated in a prestigious-looking security building overlooking Cour Mirabeau, which is lined with plane trees, cafes and vendors selling trinkets. You need an electronic device to open the heavy front door and go up the elevator (I never figured out if the stairs could take us up to the apartment). The apartment is large, airy, sun-drenched and elegantly decorated in the European rustic fashion. The windows open to beautiful views of Aix. You can see the King Rene statue in front of the building, the fountains dotting the city, people sitting in cafes and strolling Cour Mirabeau and street performers plying their trade as you sip a glass of rose' wine from Provence.

In my opinion, the shower is the best part of the apartment. In European fashion, it is separated from the toilette (which is very clean with its own sink). The floor of the large cubical is lined with round pebbles and the cubical of the shower is partitioned with glass. The water gets warm instantly and is powerful. I felt like in a spa!

The towel supply is adequate for four of us. The beds are double beds and quite comfortable. Although the two bedrooms are next to each other, the wall is quite thick, in case one wonders about privacy.

One bedroom has an A/C but the other has a heater. Most of time we never touched either one, because it was cool enough to have a fan on (there are at least four in the apartment).

There is a washing machine in the apartment but no dryer (this is Europe). The summer is very dry in Aix-en-Provence (thus the lack of mosquitoes) so clothes dry quickly on the drying rack the owner provides.

For someone who likes to cook, the farmers's market is around the corner in Place Verdun every Tue, Thu and Sat in summer. I was amazed by the varieties and quality of the produce: all the best fruits and vegetables in season, as well as spices,olives, cheeses and cured meats. For other grocery, Monoprix is down the street on Cour Mirabeau. The kitchen of the apartment is well-equipped with a vacuum, oven, microwave oven, a dishwasher, dishes, glassware and tupperware, however, I could not find a large knife to chop my vegetables.

Weekly parking is available upon request, but there are also many parking garages in the city of Aix with a daily charge of €15. The owner Peter and his assistant Nancy speak fluent English and were courteous and helpful in arranging for the rental and key pick-up, even when we arrived later than expected.

Aix-en-Provence is a beautiful city to meander in, dining, shopping, people-watching, soaking up the sun, enjoying the atmosphere of being in Provence and taking in the culture and art of Europe. It is also a great base in exploring the region of Provence. Staying in this apartment enhanced the pleasures of all the above experiences. I will come back here in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the shower, overall atmosphere
Liked least: Restrictions on days of rental (only from Saturday to Saturday)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaleighTr...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Georgeous and Perfect, Impressive Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, two teenage children, and I spent a fantastic week in early July at the Cours Mirabeau apartment in Aix. The apartment was located at one of the best spots in Aix, in a historic building, directly behind the statue of King Rene at the head of the famous Cours Mirabeau. The apartment itself is beautifully furnished with a real Provence flair. It is exacltly as represented in the website photos, exept even better, because you are there! Every interior and exterior view looks like a Provence painting, particularly after you buy some flowers at the nearby morning flower market. It is very roomy and comfortable, and it has beautiful views through its attactive windows in several directions, as it is located on a corner.

It was a very tolerable 10 minute walk (1/4 mile??) with our rolling suitcases to and from the drop off spot for the convenient and frequently running bus to and from the Aix TGV train station.

One of the two bedrooms has an air conditioner, and if you close off the door between the bedroom wing and the rest of the apartment, the other bedroom gets some benefit. We were there during a short heat wave, and our kids really needed the provided fans. Several very good fans are provided. The loft sleeper sofa was not used, because that part of the apartment is not air conditioned. However, the open windows at night in the living room do cool that part of the apartment at night and in the morning, even on hot days. If it weren't for the fact that we are wimpy Americans who are spoiled by creature comforts, I wouldn't even mention the A/C issue. I would definitely rent this apartment again, and would highly recommend it.

The management was excellent, easy to work with, very helpful, and responsive. We were met upon arrival at the apartment.

Absolutely georgeous apartment... in a beautiful building...in a perfect location! And a great boulangerie with fantastic croissants just a few steps away around the corner (to your right)! This is a combination that would be hard to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful and great location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$857
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing