We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location.....,”
other travellers have booked this property
Pigeonnier 42msq with high beamed ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pigeonnier 42msq with high beamed ceilings
Saltwater swimming pool 11x5m surrounded by stone walls and a locked gate. Large double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Pigeonnier 42msq with high beamed ceilings
Saltwater swimming pool 11x5m surrounded by stone walls and a locked gate.
Large double bed
Inside the Pigeonnier
Lounge area with a double bed settee and a wood burner
High beamed ceilings
Kitchen area with a washing machine, cooker, microwave & fridge etc.
Bathroom with large walkin shower
The beautiful original old stone Pigeon Loft
Choice of sunbeds and shaded area around the fully enclosed pool
Childrens play area
Fort Boyard just off the coast
Tower guarding the beautiful old port of La Rochelle
Local sandy beaches
Quaint old port of La Rochelle with many bars & restaurants
The 'Hermione' built by hand in Rochefort
Dolmen just 2kms away
Fantastic evening sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Thewhole9...
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice spot for a couple of days”
Reviewed 25 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved the look of the place online and it was pretty in reality too. Sadly no views over the surrounding countryside from The Pigeonnier which would have been nice but the price wasn't high so we maybe shouldn't have expected that. It was cold when we were there but the wood burner kept everything nice and warm and there were plentiful logs next door. Sadly the wifi didn't work for 2 of the three nights that we were there and this was a bit stressful as we had work that needed doing. But the owners got it working in the end. The electricity kept shutting off too and we never did find the reason for that. It is in a good spot in terms of access but La Rochelle is at least 30 minutes away so you can't just pop in for dinner. La Rochelle is lovely and we certainly recommend visiting and seeing the Aquarium which was amazing. Lots of work going on in La Rochelle to make it even nicer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property Le Pigeonnier, sorry it was not exactly what you had envisaged.
We are completely surrounded by fields with rolling countryside and no immediate neighbours. The wifi did not work at first and we could not find any reason for this until the fuse box tripped (which is what it is designed to do) and from this we deduced that a bulb had gone in the kitchen, once we replaced the bulb everything worked fine. If we had been notified about the bulb sooner then we could have got the wifi working sooner. (We did not have a wifi problem before and we have not had one since.) I am sure our advertising points out our vicinity to La Rochelle and to Chatelaillon-Plage which is only 15/20 minutes drive which also has numerous seafront restaurants.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracybott...
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location, location, location.....,”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fabulous stay at a wonderful, isolated location! If you want a quiet, uninterrupted place to relax - this is certainly it! Accommodation is exactly what you should expect and what you get. If you want bars and a bustling nightlife then don’t go!! But if you want peace and time to breathe, and a base from which to travel then go, go, go!! The hosts are welcoming and approachable, unfortunately we went early in the season so the pool wasn’t up and running but it looked great! With Surgeres, La Rochelle and Rochefort only a short distance away it’s ideally located! Excellent stay......thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isthiaq S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and cozy setting”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We loved our stay at The Pigeonnier, the setting was very warm and calm. It's situated ideally in between two very nice towns, each 30 minutes apart. Suzanne and Nigel ensured we had a comfortable stay, also provided us with a Cot and high chair for our 9 month old. Highly recommend and we will definitely be back during the summer!! Ish

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We really look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona h
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Super gite full of character. Wonderful location to explore the area and great to come back to and relax by the pool - the weather in late September was still in the mid 20's. Nigel and Suzie were very helpful with great suggestions for the best places to visit.
We are intending to return next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and we really forward to seeing you both again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynord19...
Llanelli
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Destination”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We've recently returned from an idyllic two week stay at The Pigeonnier. The gite was in such a peaceful location and with a stunning pool that we were reluctant to leave it, but as there were so many places to visit within a short driving distance we did tear away ourselves some days to explore the surrounding area. Surgeres was the nearest little town which had lovely places to eat and to stock up on groceries etc. There are great beaches within a short driving distance but our favourite was Fouras from where you could catch a ferry to the stunning island of Ile De Aix. A visit to La Rochelle and Ile De Re is also a must as well as Venise Vert.

However, the highlight of the holiday for us was spending time in and around the The Pigeonnier either by chilling around the pool, cycling around the country lanes surrounded by gorgeous sunflowers and barbecuing local produce in the evening washed down with a bottle of local wine!! (Bikes and BBQ's are provided at no extra cost which was brilliant). A huge thank you Nigel and Suzanne for making us feel so welcome and for all your friendly advice on places to visit and things to do during our stay. We will definitely be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
It was a pleasure to host you and we really look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing