We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
35
90
24
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
90
24
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We stayed here for a one night stop over on way back to Roscoff- we have stayed here before.The hotel and rooms are basic but comfortable and very clean which is reflected in the price and there is plenty of car parking outside
The staff however are excellent- nothing is too much trouble-

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
METIVIER S, La réception at Brit Hotel Brasserie du Cap - La Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Hello,


We thank you for your compliments and we hope to see you at the next stop in La Rochelle.

The team of Brit Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel has everything you would want for a base to visit La Rochelle. It is a couple of miles outside La Rochelle, but transport is good - either a bus across the street or the hotel will ring for a taxi, around 12 - 15 euros to the town centre. This hotel is clean and comfortable with good food and very friendly staff. We had a problem with air conditioning late at night but the information booklet didn't seem to have an emergency number for after hours. Spoke to receptionist in the morning who showed us where the number was, still didn't really see it but eventually understood what she meant. They need to have an English speaking person review their information leaflets. Other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illandiml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
METIVIER S, La réception at Brit Hotel Brasserie du Cap - La Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de nous donnez votre avis.

Nous sommes désolés du désagrément que vous avez eu durant la nuit. Vos commentaires sont importants pour nous, et nous avons amélioré le livret de renseignements dans nos chambres, afin que les informations soient facilement accessibles.

Nous sommes ravis que le reste de votre séjour se soit bien passé.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in Dec 2013, as a stopover on our way down to Spain. Friendly and helpful staff. Saw no other guests at all during our stay. Room clean apart from shower door. Shower gel provided but no soap. Hand towel dirty, receptionist changed straight away. A/C awkward to operate/turn off. Good water pressure in shower. Bed not v comfy, b/f and I kept rolling towards each other. Pillows lumpy, too high for b/f. Breakfast expensive - €9 per person (room was €56) , was acceptable in terms of choice though boiled eggs were cracked and v grey inside. Free parking and wifi (quite fast). Room v quiet, no outside noise. Would probably stay elsewhere if returning to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polymoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in a double bedded room, good bed, good and very needed aircon and only slightly noisy. The room was clean and basic but we had a very good price. Good WIFI included. The shower room was OK with fitted soap dispensers, my only real criticism is the shower head could have been better.

We found the hotel with ease and the parking was good. We were early but they allowed an early check in. The staff were lovely and did speak soon English which was much better than our French.
We did not eat in the very busy restaurant but the diners all looked happy with their lot.
We did have coffee and a drink or two, there is no real bar but hey just grab a table and get on with it.
The room needed of improvements as to where you put your stuff but again we were there to sleep only.

Would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

stayed for 2 nights at this Hotel, was my birthday weekend, and thought the offer price on Bookings.com was good, and also got good reviews,but was disappointed.
rooms okay bed quite comfy but very basic, no toiletries, not even tissues, it says Bar but there was no bar area to sit in, other than having a meal in the restaurant, and at the side of reception was like an area that was more like waiting for a train, painted with gaudy colors and no ambiance, and that is where you had to sit if you just wanted a drink,
went to the bar,and I had seen drinks and cocktails on the menu online and on the wall of the entrance, but when I asked for the drinks from a menu that was on the bar the bar man took the menu from me and fetched one I could have that had no such drinks on, so I just had wine, my husband also tried to tell him our room number in french and the man corrected his pronunciation which I thought quite rude, also when we wanted to get a second dink, my husband stood at the bar for ages, then noticed what he thought were 4 people eating outside it turned out to be,all the staff on a break, 2 chefs the bar man and the boy off reception, thought this to be very off, as I realize they have to have breaks but all at the same time, in the view of the customers, there seemed no one in charge.
the 2 girl receptionists were very good, one could speak very good English, and they were helpful, I do not think I would stay there again.thought the hotel tired and drab

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentAlmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews