We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
59
109
21
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
109
21
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator triple room great place to stay side street old port small hotel stayed here for nights perfect location noise soundproofed cafes parking marina market
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Quietest hotel I’ve ever stayed in. The windows are soundproofed which is excellent- you probably couldn’t stay here if they weren’t as it’s in a busy location. It has a central spot on the square in the port area and is convenient to everything including the old narrow streets of the town. The staff are lovely and Helen deserves a special mention. She speaks great English and was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and places to visit (and of course things to avoid). The room was a little small and the bathroom tiny but it was sufficient. The shower was lovely with plenty of hot water. I didn’t eat in the hotel but it looked nice and lots of others did. Overall a great little hotel to use as a base to explore the tiny city and beautiful area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 358maryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axehotel, Propriétaire at Axe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your great comment on location comfort of the room and kindness of our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

This small hotel is nicely located between the old town & port and the redeveloped port, both of which have an abundance of restaurants, cafes and lively bars. The antique market is right opposite the front door (Thursday and Saturday when I stayed). The hotel is not open 24 hours a day, but has key code entry at various times. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonessb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axehotel, Propriétaire at Axe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your great comment.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

The Axe is a small friendly hotel situated right in the middle of the the old port area, close to the station and marina. The downside for those who are noise sensitive that it could be a bit noisy during the hot summer months as there is no aircon and the temptation is to have Windows open. the rooms were however provided with efficient fans and the charm of the hotel, welcome and location outweigh this.

Everyone raves about the breakfast and rightly-it was excellent value.

Great place to stay

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Grosvenors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axehotel, Propriétaire at Axe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your great comment on location comfort of the room and kindness of our staff.
The old Harbour can be busy at night during the summer like all any harbour in the world and all our romms have double soudproff windows.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights during Easter and the location was perfect. It was right next to the pier with a view on the 2 towers, and easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, and the old town. Location was PERFECT! Centre of town, with a lot of things going on around. Little markets happening over the weekend. I highly recommend this place. It's centre enough and not over a ton of bars so you can get adequate sleep if you wish.

The Double Room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom to boot. The only complaint I have is that if there are people banging around, you can hear them, so keep that in mind. The breakfast was fine with salty and sweet options.

Parking was a little difficult, as you need to park near the train station or a side street. And with construction around the side streets, it wasn't ideal. Also, no elevator which with only 4 stories was a non-issue for us and our light luggage. All in all, a good trip with a comfortable bed.

Room tip: Double rooms are nice and a little bit larger.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lxaest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axehotel, Propriétaire at Axe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you very much for you kind comment on our hotel.
We are very pleased to read your satisfaction about the location of the hotel and the confort and the cleannes of the room.
The hotel is situated at 300 meters from the Public Parking "Vieux Port Sud" where it is very easy to find a parking place all year round.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a great location just beside the old harbour and also very close to the railways station. The small rooms are very clean and practically arranged, wifi included. The breakfast is good and sufficient. The owner is very friendly. The room price is reasonable/affordable for this mix of location, cleanliness and good breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Emese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axehotel, Propriétaire at Axe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind comment.
We are very pleased to reas that you have appreciated our location and warm welcome.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews