We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Still the best gite we have stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Grenier

Le Grenier Frontage with secure covered parking. Table and chair sets at the front and rear.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Grenier Frontage with secure covered parking. Table and chair sets at the front and rear.
Magnificent Restored Property set in beautiful and private grounds. Beautifully fitted kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Le Grenier Frontage with secure covered parking. Table and chair sets at the front and rear.
Magnificent Restored Property set in beautiful and private grounds.
Beautifully fitted kitchen.
Fully Fitted Kitchen with Butler Sink and integrated dishwasher, oven, hob and fridge.
Beautifully appointed Kitchen/Dining Room. Dual aspect, original beams, exposed stone walls.
English TV with range of freeview channels and Radio fully installed.
King Size Bed with additional single bed. Double aspect with en-suite shower room.
Master bedroom with En-suite and Double Aspect. Just gorgeous.
Two single beds in second bedroom. Overlooks rear garden and paddock.
Another image of the downstairs bedroom with original features.
Original Tuffeau stone stairs. The history of thr previous grain store is so evident.
Entrance to Le Grenier through Electric Gates and stone pillars; just magnificent.
Plenty of space to relax and think about which lanes to cycle next; bikes free at Le Grenier.
Front Garden of Le Grenier - always full of colour and with plenty of places to sit.
Secluded and Private Gardens. No other gites mean total privacy. Sand pit and swing set, badminton.
Available in Peak season; perfect for children's play or adults to relax in. Just ask when booking.
Marshmallows on the fire; how gorgeous is that?
Safe and Private Play area with views over paddock and surrounding countryside.
Beautiful Grounds to wander around and explore. Choose your own secluded place to relax.
A few visitors wander through the grounds; always something to see.
Retro Grand Prix - Every July. Just 5 minutes away. Just park among the vines and stroll in.
Saturday evening of the Retro Grand Prix - so much to see and all so relaxed.
Zoo at Doue la Fontaine - just 10 minutes away. Voted one of the best Zoos in Europe.
Lions at the Zoo at Doue! So much to see there and all in a very natural setting.
The Leisure Lake just ten minutes away with fitness circuit in the shade around the lake.
Just cycle along the quiet lane to see the cows and their calves.
Puy-de-Fou; what an incredible place to visit during your stay in Le Grenier.
Information about all the local markets and tourist attractions is waiting for you inside Le Grenier
Cyclins specialists or just for the casual bike ride; local lanes or by the river? Your choice!!
Tour de France comes so close to us; worth going to see.
Chateaux at Brissac with magnificent grounds; one of many within easy reach of Le Grenier.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GrahamALo...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Still the best gite we have stayed in!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Shh... Keep this to yourselves but there is no better gite in the Loire, in France! Spacious, very well appointed, quiet & relaxing, lots of countryside to explore nearby, table tennis, boules, donkeys for the leftovers, and the ever entertaining Andrew to make your holiday complete. Our third visit and we could have sworn that, nestling amongst the polished chestnuts, there were several jokes we had not heard before! New jokes, surely not! Back next year, we would not miss it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable & spacious, quiet & relaxing
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A beautiful, comfortable and very well maintained holiday property, one of the very best we have stayed in.
Everything possible for the comfort and entertainment of guests has been provided. The location is ideal for exploring the area. The furnishings and equipment are of excellent quality.
We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loobyloo...
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We'd give it 6 stars if we could!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've just spent a week at this wonderful accommodation. From the moment we made our enquiry nothing was too much trouble for Andrew. He always responded promptly and was extremely helpful. We arrived in this lovely, quiet hamlet to a warm, friendly welcome and were quickly made to feel at home. There was a bottle of wine and some nibbles in the kitchen which was a very thoughtful touch. The gite is very clean, spacious, extremely comfortable and well equipped. The split level accommodation would be ideal for 2 couples sharing as it has one en suite bedroom upstairs and a bedroom & bathroom downstairs. A lot of thought has gone into making this extremely high quality accommodation, it has all the luxuries of home and more. It was great to have free wifi and English TV. For relaxation you could lie in the peace & quiet of the garden on loungers with a book and a glass of local wine which we did on several sunny occasions. We had some lovely cycle rides around the country lanes. We particularly enjoyed riding via Argentay to Le Puy Notre Dame for lunch at Le Bouchon Ponot where we had delicious, reasonably priced meals served by a delightful English speaking waitress. We took the car to venture further afield and enjoyed exploring the many interesting places in the Loire valley. We highly recommend this lovely gite and we would give it 6 stars if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyBut...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best gite we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What an incredible gite. Pictures on the website do not do it justice.

Spotlessly clean and at the same time warm and welcoming. Spacious and full of character with beams, vaulted ceilings and exposed stonework.

The gite catered for all our needs with integrated appliances, two shower rooms and there was a vast variety of games and activities for children (and two lovely donkeys who enjoyed the odd baguette)! Andrew, the owner lives on site; available but never intrusive.

We loved the table tennis, basket ball, table football and great bikes – that were all available for our own private use. The area is perfect for cycling around the quiet lanes and tracks.

We especially enjoyed relaxing in the evening in the beautiful private garden and grounds with a BBQ and glass of local wine (brought back from one of the nearby Châteaux wine tastings).

On other days out we went to the Zoo at Doue (definitely worth a visit) and went Go Karting which was great fun too!

We have already booked for next year : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQs in the evening in the beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamALo...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best Gite I have stayed in”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our second visit to Le Grenier and as enjoyable as the first, especially with the addition of table tennis!
The perfect place to relax away from the bustle of London.
Yes, there are a lot of chateaux and markets to visit but this year we just enjoyed the surroundings, on site table tennis, darts, badminton, boules, even table football! Tennis nearby. A large choice of bikes at the Gite to explore the mostly flat countryside. Excellent food at the supermarkets in Due La Fontaine. And the ever genial Andrew to check all is going well and regale us with a never ending supply of jokes...
Back in 2015!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion & comfort of the gite
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing