We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 645)
Filter reviews
1 645 results
Traveller rating
398
821
306
80
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
821
306
80
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park large cars mercure rouen sat nav one way system privilege room excellent location narrow streets a nightmare garage door standard room nespresso machine buffet breakfast is central location small car beautiful cathedral the hotel reception
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1 645 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Perfectly located hotel in the center of historic Rouen. A bit difficult to find by car and the hotel has to supply you a code that opens a barrier to let you drive to the hotel. They have parking for some cars under the hotel but the spaces are tiny and limited in number. There are several large public parking garages nearby if the hotel’s is full.
The hotel itself is very modern and well equipped. Our room was not especially large but had enough room for nightstands on either side of the bed. Two desk areas with lots of plugs. The closet had room to hang clothes, a safe, and a small refrigerator.
The bathroom was large modern and very clean. Large lighted mirror and a shaving mirror, plenty of counter space. Our room had a deep tub/shower. A little tricky getting in and out. Other rooms have stand up showers. The bed was comfortable and had little reading lights.
Breakfast was a generous buffet with multiple meats cheeses breads pastries juices fruits and cereals.
Minor quibble: the little refrigerator in the closet was positioned directly under the safe. The heat from the refrigerator made the safe quite hot inside. We usually store our medicines in the safe but in this case had to unplug the refrigerator to do this.
Staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. A delightful place to stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pisendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed and positive comment,

It is real pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in our renovated hotel. Be sure your satisfaction about our location, our breakfast, our friendly and helpful staff will be share with all our team.

As you noticed our parking has only 43 places for 125 rooms. We often advise our guests who arrive late to call us before arriving to know if there is some place available.
The closest secured parkings are the one of the “Palais de Justice” and the one “place de la haute vieille tour”, both 5 minutes walk away,

We would be happy to welcome you again,

Best Regards,

C.Pomarède - Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This hotel is in the centre of town, a two-minute walk from the main cathedral (there are three). If you can, get room 503. It's on the top floor, and has views right across the rooftops.
The hotel is a standard Mercure -- well appointed, friendly staff (we found their English a bit limited), well serviced, good buffet breakfast. The location, however, is a winner.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Swaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment,

It is a pleasure to read your satisfaction about our location, our Privilege room, our services and our friendly and helpful staff,

We would be happy to welcome you again in Rouen,
Best Regards,
C.Pomarède - Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

This hotel is your basic tourist hotel. The staff at the desk is very friendly for the most part but only int he intern was really helpful. The staff explained the beds are all new, that is why they are hard like the beds in tourist hotels elsewhere in the eastern world. the pull out couch was so hard to sit on as a couch even with the bed pillows it was so uncomfortable I went to bed. The is in bellman service. It is all very clean

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rosaliesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Rosalie,

You took the time to write your comment and we would like to thank you for that,

Your satisfaction about our team and our services will be shared as soon as possible with them.

As our friendly and helfpul staff explained to you, our bedding and our pull out couch have been completely changed durinf the hotel renovation in 2016, then equipped with toppers in order to improve our guests comfort. We are sincerely sorry that it was too hard for you and you couldn't rest as much as you wanted.

We hope to welcome you again,
Best Regards,
C.Pomarède - Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Rooms were all perfectly ok - and location is the major plus for this hotel. Also dog friendly which was a big bonus. Breakfast was not included in our rate - but was ok - if a little expensive. Would recommend this hotel for a 1-2 night stay - no more.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for your comment and your recommendation,

As you mentionned our hotel has a great location, in the historical city center, next to the famous cathedral. Once arrived, you can easily visit Rouen on foot.

We hope your next stay will be as pleasant as this one,
Best Regards,
C.Pomarède - Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

This is a basic hotel. The rooms are adequate for a short stay. The chamber maid needs to be told that 5C and maximum fan speed is not an ideal temperature for guests. That is what I found each day. In fact the air conditioning is very noisy and if weather permits it should be switched off or set to lowest fan speed overnight.
Breakfast is quite good, with a broad selection of food, with an apparent emphasis on sweet rather than savoury products. There is a good selection of teas.
As always I prefer to use the stairs rather than the lift. The stairs here are a tight spiral staircase with a steep angle, more suited to a castle than a panicked evacuation of a burning building. In an emergency I foresee people falling on the stairs and a resultant crush.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Tim,

Thank you for writing about your stay,

Our chamber maid are told to settle the air conditioning like this to properly refresh the rooms. With the hot temperature, if we do not do that the rooms are getting hot very quickly and then it is harder to get them cold.

We would be happy to welcome you again,
Best Regards,
C.Pomarède - Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews