We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
125
75
77
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
75
77
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view main building beautiful hotel deauville tub
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Came in very late in the evening and we're lovely welcomed by the friendly staff. Beautiful room, large and good bed and a superb pool with sea view! Staff in the morning was very helpful. We will return!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bull4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We have visited La Chaumiere once before and decided to return for Christmas.

We chose the separate sheepfold which is a small cottage about 50 yards up the hill from the main hotel.

The Good - it is quiet, it has a lot of character with oak ceiling and a mirrored window that allows you to sit in the bath and look out over the field above the carpark and if you look hard left you can see the estuary and the lights of Le Havre. It is spacious and has a nice little seating are downstairs with a coffee table. They accept dogs and there was plenty of space for the travel crate for our black labrador. Goof Wifi, comfortable sofa, nice seating area outside for an evening drink in the summer. easy access to the beach for a walk.

The Not Quite! - when you pay the premium price that La Bergerie commands, there are certain things that you might expect. Downstairs seating area doesn't have a television so if you want to watch television you have to do so in bed. There is nearly no cupboard space of any sort so you have to leave your clothes in their bag on the luggage stand or hang them on the approx 30cm piece of coat rack. If you are paying for a premium room, you might expect that there would be milk for the coffee making facilities or even a small fridge but no, a coffee machine and tea bags but no kettle! (they did provide one when asked but did so grudgingly). OK they may not want to provide cold milk but as a minimum individual UHT creamer or milk pods should be provided.
The lighting is dim in the room and although we stayed 4 nights and requested they fix the bathroom lights on the Saturday morning as either the dimmer in the bathroom was broken or the bulbs were faulty - the net result was being in semi dark in the bathroom area. Yes Sunday was Christmas eve, but the feeling we got was one of how dare we complain.
The staircase has small treads so be careful especially if you need the facilities at night in the dark.

It is always right to help the Hotel get it better so they could
1 - put another TV downstairs on a bracket on the wall under staircase
2 - put some sort of sound system in ( a simple airplay speaker would help)
3 - put a fridge with milk and water in the room (under the stairs possibly)
4 - provide some storage upstairs for clothes
5 - possibly some lighter cushions to make the place seem less dark

Room tip: only choose La Bergerie (Rm 10) if you are looking for a romantic room for a short stay and are very mobile/young
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JASandSJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Lovely property, even better setting, peaceful place after the crowds of tourist in the nearby Honfleur and Deauville. Dinner was rather disappointing from the quality and choices and the service was not professional at all. But the view to the sea from your dinner plate is worth it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pier B, Propriétaire at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Good afternoon,

We thank you very much for your comment and will pay lot more attention to the quality of our service. Although we believe our team is fully dedicated to our guests as our hotel in run with a family spirit.
It would have been nice of you to complain about it while you were here, so that we know where to improve.

As for the quality and the choice we offer in the restaurant, we tend to provide the best quality of ingredients, mainly local, often organic which normally guarantee an outstanding result in your plate. But we do understand and apologize for not fulfilling your expectations.

Any comments are always a great way for us to raise our standards and improve our quality of service, we therfere thank you again for your help.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Beautiful Property, However that's about it.

The afternoon reception staff require additional training as they don't seem to know what is going on. They did not offer to help us with our luggage, The bathroom in our room was not cleaned properly and on our second day we found the wet towels that we left in the bath tub for replacement were folded and hung back onto the towel racks.

We informed reception (Afternoon staff ) and they sent housekeeping upstairs immediately. The house keeper decided that is was ok to scream at us telling us that the towels had been replaced. We handed her one of the wet towels that she had folded and hung neatly to which she responded that this was normal !?!!

For 360 Euros a night, I would suggest going somewhere else.

The breakfast selection was basic and not up to par.

The BBQ dinner was the same and not worth the price.

It is a shame because the service staff in the restaurant are very very good.

If you dream of coming to a place with excellent food in Normandy then this is definitely not the place.

The rooms lack the basics - Safe, Coffee Maker etc. Not a deal breaker but for what you pay it is a little disappointing.

The gentlemen who runs the reception in the morning is very polite, professional and helpful and was kind enough to offer to help with our luggage upon check out. (Funny that this has to be mentioned when it should be the norm across the board)

This property lacks the basics that you would expect from a 4 Star location.

If you are looking to be pampered then this is not the place for you.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kijijitrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

This is a great feeling restaurant and ambience. However that's where it ends. The food is average and wine list ok ( but items not available which we ordered). No cheese board., which they probably think is not trendy. The place is run as a hip trendy place however the staff were having more fun not doing anything when they should have been attentive. When we arrived 2 of the staff had there feet up in front of the outside fire. It's all a little to laid back. One staff member seemed to be doing all the work and was doing well but it was clear no one else was bothered with guests.
Don't get me wrong I like trendy hipster style places but you have to provide top food and service to engage your customers.
You cannot pay at the table and have to go to the reception where the guy can't add up whilst he sings to Rasta music.
The hotel has the basics, a really nice location great decor but the business needs a management team in to sort it out.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Pier B, Propriétaire at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Mark ,

We did receive your message and are vey sorry for the unpleasantness you may have during your stay in our restaurant . As the matter of fact , our staff is being trained to take care of all our clients . Your comments on our staff behavior while serving diner to the clients are well understood .We apologize and will do our utmost to avoid those problems in the future . You are always welcome to la Chaumière and hope to see you again with pleasure .

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future, we wish you a very good evening;

Kindest regards , Marie Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews