We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Has to be seen to be believed.”
Manor House - View on main entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manor House - View on main entrance
Kitchen Lucky autumn day ( cepes mushrooms )
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Manor House - View on main entrance
Kitchen
Lucky autumn day ( cepes mushrooms )
Flowers from garden  in dining room
Kitchen from dining room
Dining room from kitchen
Dining room
a corner in dining room
An outside view from kitchen
lounge
lounge
lounge TV corner
lounge TV corner
Manor House from garden
Bedroom 4 (Louis Philippe  bedroom - en suite )
Hydrotherapy  shower 2
Bedroom 5 (Ming style bedroom with  Super king size bed ) - TV in bedroom
Ming style bedroom   ( king size bed ) - TV in bedroom
A view from Ming style bedroom
Bedroom 3 ( 17th century bedroom )
Jaccuzi - balneotherapy/ chromotherapy
Library
Double ( spare ) bed in Library
Library leading to bedroom 1 ( en suite )
Bedroom 1 with TV ( leading to bedroom 2 )
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Plan with beds
Bird watching on pond
Spring  walk around Manoir du Bocage
Summer  lunch and nap
Autumn taste  from our orchards
Winter colours on frozen pond
Front garden
Water lilies on pond
Peace and color ( summer )
Apple trees blossoming - spring
Drive way to entrance
Panoramic view ( front  garden )
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lisieux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Dlott81
1 review
“Has to be seen to be believed.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a visit to the house and had the most fantastic time. The house is absolutely beautiful with so much space and the grounds are well kept and have plenty of room plus an ornamental lake and a boat. We had a group of 8 and there was plenty of room for us all. The town of Lisieux was nearby and was handy for picking up food etc however the only thing that was very hard to understand were the directions to the house. It turned out that you need to go to the town of Fervaques, near Lisieux and go straight up the hill opposite the church and the road turns to the right and it's about a half a mile down the road on the left that the bocage is signposted. After turning onto this lane it's the drive at the very end of the lane with the gates, on the left hand side. Nightmare to find but absolutely worth it!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our Manor House and surrounding .
Regarding directions , I understand our home may be difficult to find due to its very private location , BUT please refer to our website , www.manoirdubocage.com, location , which offers a google map with which I believe you cant get lost .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to leave
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
We do thank you for your comments and are glad you enjoyed our home , garden, pond , orchards , private woods and surrounding , all totally dedicated to nature and peace lovers .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie B
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better in real life”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in September 2012

When my husband showed me the website for this rental, I was very skeptical. It really seemed too good to be true. After spending a week at this house, I can say that it was even prettier in real life than in the pictures. The house is huge and there was enough room for 10 people to stay comfortably although it was just me, my husband and our 4 1/2 yr old son. The kitchen is well equipped, the bathrooms modern and the beds comfortable. We all had a perfect vacation here. The very private, expansive grounds are picturesque and perfect for picnics, watching frogs jump around the pond, running around or just relaxing. The town of Fervaques is very small and there is only one teeny grocery store that never seemed to be open, so get provisions in a bigger town. But, the location was a good home base for us since most tourist sites that we wanted to see were within an hour drive. And we really appreciated being able to come back to such a peaceful setting. I would be very happy to go back to this house every year.
One warning- check the directions to the house or follow a map. My husband used the directions given on the house's website and we got totally lost for an hour in the dark. Also note- a non-refundable cleaning fee (I think around $250) was not included in the rate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the house.
Liked least: No screens on the windows, which is typical of French houses.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
We thank you for your good words , and will be glad to welcome you again in our home : Manoir du Bocage .
We keep upgrading our home through the years , and stay attached to our familial tradition of making sure our guests feel home and comfortable
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jop B
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for reviewing us and for your feed back .
We are glad you enjoyed our home and the service we provided you .
We are sorry you found Manoir du Bocage too isolated , which may be the main reason you rated us "3 bubbles " on 5.
I need to bring to your attention , that among many distinctions we received through the years , one is " Gites pleine Nature " , given to prime properties offering privacy , quietness and a kind of the end of the world , which all informations are disclosed on the advert and documents provided by Gites de France or ourselves .
Once again I m sorry Manoir du Bocage did not reach your expectations in terms of location , and trust you enjoyed with your family your long week end by us .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing