We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/03
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/29
Hotels.comUS$99
PricelineUS$116
eDreamsUS$116
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
57
52
26
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
52
26
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Tucked away a bit with no onsite parking (although we managed to get our motorbikes parked by the rear entrance), public parking 250 metres away.
Clean comfortable room but breakfast was very very basic even by French standards and not value for money.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gavink479
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinetteM, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello,
We thank you for taking the time to leave us your opinion following your stay.
I think that if you came back from the back entrance is that we had reserved a parking space especially for you. It is actually difficult to have a large private car park when we are a city hotel, however there is a lot of public parking all around the hotel.
We thank you for your pleasant comment on the room.
The breakfast we propose is a "continental" breakfast composed exclusively of sweet products.
We thank you for having stayed with us and hope to see you again very soon during a future stay on Caen.
Very cordially.
Chloe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The only thing I liked was the location, since it is near the castle and the restaurants area. However, it is located on a wide avenue with lots of traffic (cars, a tram that runs till 11 pm and starts at 5 am) and drunk people noise until 3 in the morning.
In general it was a horrible experience. We do not know if it is because we had an issue with the hotel with the reservation and that's why they gave us the worst room (number 3) or if they are all equally bad.
When you walk into the room, you are hit by a disgusting smell, maybe coming from the dirty-looking carpet. The bathroom is ancient, with mould on the wall of the shower and paint peeling off. As mentioned earlier, this room located on the first floor, just above reception, overlooks a noisy avenue and what with the noise and the smell (it does not have air conditioning), you need to have the window open what makes it impossible to get a decent rest. I really do not understand the positive comments with which it is rated.
As to the problem I had with the reservation, basically, the day before going we made a non-refundable reservation on a hotel portal and indicated that we needed parking for our car (the hotel description said they had parking but it was necessary to confirm). To cut a long story short, they only have 3 parking spaces in an open courtyard and these 3 spaces (not surprisingly) were already booked, we asked them to cancel so that we could find another hotel with parking but the Manager (Marie) refused. She was adamant that the reservation was non-refundable - this is true, but some good will would have been appreciated. Forget it! They are only interested in your money. And they do not seem to invest it in improving the rooms. A very disappointing experience. Avoid it if you can.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viajera102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinetteM, Propriétaire at Hotel Du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Nous sommes un hôtel de centre ville il est donc normal que celui-ci soit bruyant, pour un peu plus de calme il aurait été plus judicieux de s'orienter vers un hôtel en périphérie. Nous avons acheté l'hôtel il y a deux ans et rénovons les chambres petit à petit, il n'y a malheuresement que les chambres du 1 er étage et celles du deuxième qui ne sont pour l'instant pas rénovées. Nous sommes désolé que vous n'aillez pas eu une de celle rénovée. Toutes nos chambres sont nettoyées tous les jours par nos femmes de chambre qui se donnent du mal pour faire en sorte que tout soit parfait pour nos clients. Nous disposons effectivement d'un parking qui est réservable à l'avance " sous réserve de place ", vous avez opté pour une offre non remboursable, comme celle ci l'indique elle n'est pas remboursable, vous auriez du opter pour une autre offre si vous n'étiez pas sur de pouvoir bénéficier du parking et pour pouvoir ensuite l'annuler. Vous trouverez rarement un hôtel de centre ville disposant d'un parking privé, ceux indiqués sur les sites font référence en général au stationnement public.
Nous apprécions vos commentaires et prenons en notre ceux négatifs pour améliorer notre hôtel chaque jour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel deserves more than two stars. Newly refurbished rooms, clean, friendly staff and good breakfast. We had a family room for 4 persons. Very nice. Free internet. Very close to the Caen castle and a nice restaurant street. Good prices.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 70mattiasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinetteM, Responsable réception at Hotel Du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel, was delighted to welcome you. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Located just down the hill from the Chateau here in Caen and less one half a block away from the tram stop “St.-Pierre,” where the A and the B take one to and from the gare, or main train station, the two star rating is perhaps deceptive. True, the rooms are small, but each (on the fourth floor where I was staying) had its own bathroom (without an array of amenities, of course), rather than a shared facility down the hall. There was a flat screen TV (limited channel selection), land-line telephone, and free, reliable internet service. My room was smoke-free and faced the back so it had less ambient noise. There is no mini-bar and no room service and breakfast is extra, but is it within walking distance of any number of restaurants in almost every conceivable price range. During the time of my stay, this establishment was fully booked which I take to be a sign of just how popular and nice this place really is.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Let-us-dine-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The room was very basic. No frills, nothing particularly special, although comfortable enough. The en-suite was a bit strange in that you opened what at first appear to be doors to a built-in wardrobe, but it's the toilet, shower and sink. So not a lot of room to manoeuvre. There was only me in the room, so not so much of a problem, but might be if you are sharing a twin and want some privacy.

Breakfast can be added for about 8Euro, but we didn't as it's only a short walk to cafes and restaurants to get something anyway.

Wi-fi is free, but I couldn't connect to it in my room on the 5th floor as it wouldn't get an IP address, at least until it connected when I was down in the reception area, and then it happily re-connected in my room. A bit strange.

Excellent location only a short walk to the tremendous château, and round the corner another short walk to the marina area where a large market sets up on Sundays.

There's a tram line right outside so easy access to the station if needed. My room was on the back, so I wasn't disturbed overnight.

Reception is not 24 hours, so you have to make sure you have the code for the outside door with you. I also took my key out with me as the key board is left unattended at reception.

Room tip: My room at the back was quiet.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews