We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$103
Hotels.comUS$103
PricelineUS$102
eDreamsUS$102
TravelocityUS$103
Destinia.comUS$116
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
218
241
43
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
241
43
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking walking distance middle of town the location is perfect briac jeremy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2019

Wow, just a fabulous stay. We visited for two nights in September (10th and 11th) for exploring the Landing Beaches, and World War II sites of Normandy. The hotel is situated on a nice square so we had very nice views out of our window. There is construction going on (improvements) to the square, but all the businesses were open and there was still lots of activity.

The room was spacious and we received great housekeeping service every day. The hotel was super clean throughout. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was very good, and there was lots of variety. You were able to visit anytime during the several hours each morning that the buffet service was provided, rather than having to make a reservation for a table, which was great. The staff, including Laure, at the Front Desk, were very friendly and helpful in calling cabs, giving recommendations for restaurants, etc. She was especially nice and pleasant with each encounter.

We had a great lunch/afternoon snack there, also, at the outdoor bistro, Café Coronne, at the hotel. We treated ourselves to the delicious "charcuterie" board, which featured the wonderful patés, sliced meats and cheeses, wonderful French butter, and assorted greens, and great bread. For dessert the creme brullee and café au lait was fantastic!

This hotel is highly recommended as it's super conveniently located downtown, so you can walk lots of different places easily. The only drawback was the construction, which isn't the fault of the hotel, but did take away visually just a tiny bit. All in all, though, great visit.

Room tip: rooms to the front have great views of the plaza
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Augustus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Royal Hotel Caen Centre, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best Regards!

Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

This was my first time to Normandy with a guided group so the choice of the hotel wasn’t mine. However I was delighted to find the hotel, including the rooms, very clean and well maintained and most of all the bed is so comfy . People and traffic noise were so minimal.
Lovely staff, always very welcoming and really caring about their guests.

Location is excellent for the town centre as there are many restaurants plus good shopping and historic sightseeing within easy walking distance. One doesn't need a car to enjoy this neighbourhood.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Lisa546
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Royal Hotel Caen Centre, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best Regards!

Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Royal Hotel, Caen.
We caught the Twisto bus, Line 3, from the Airport which was only 1.50 euros to the Theatre stop in the Centre of Caen. From there it was 5 minutes to the Hotel in the Republique Square which at the moment is being refurbished. The staff were very helpful and attentive. On our two stays here we had room 105 and 304, the latter being the better room. The only thing I did mention was that a mirror would be good by the plugs to the side of the TV and also some hooks in the bathroom door would be useful.
The Continental breakfast was good and varied. Regards Gary Saunders

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Royal Hotel Caen Centre, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best Regards!

Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

Poor excuse for a four star hotel. Arrived late having booked it at short notice. Chose it as a four star so it would have facilities. Well I have no idea how this is a four star. No amenities in the bathroom, cheap linen, pillow like a sausage, a tiny packet of instant coffee. Incredible really for 150 euros. I have no issue paying for something but when it’s so far from value it really is annoying. Add to this they didn’t tell us about the massive road works happening right outside the hotel. All in all exceptionally poor. When we brought this up with the manager she started shouting at us ????? Rude to me is fine, rude to my wife is an entirely different matter. Extraordinary I would stay anywhere else in Caen, which by the by is a lovely little city. But his hotel deserves a very wide miss indeed.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Norfolkbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Your last stay in Caen obviously left you with a terrible souvenir and we are very sorry to be held responsible for that.
The road works on the square in front of the hotel indisposed you at the highest point even if not in progress at the time of your arrival in the evening and you felt cheated by us although you booked your room on internet just before arriving and had no contact with us in between: we had no chance to warn you of the visual discomfort. Yet we tried to suggest courtesy compensation, offered you breakfast and declared open to any other gesture that you should find appropriate.
You settled your bill the day of your departure and no money was taken from you previously. You were not trapped with us and could freely change for another hotel.
We were firm on one point: we do not appreciate being threatened with “very bad comment on internet”. We regret that you felt it was discourteous.
We regret even more that you never shared with us your being discontent of the hotel itself.
Even though your judgement and sayings are unusually harsh and we find it undeserved, you can be certain that it will be taken into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

We were made to feel welcome by staff in this comfortable,friendly hotel. I found Jeremy on the desk most helpful and obliging.Rooms we’re clean and contained everything necessary for our four night stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank CoraClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews