We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$102
Hotels.comUS$102
PricelineUS$103
eDreamsUS$103
Agoda.comUS$103
Destinia.comUS$116
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
218
241
43
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
241
43
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking walking distance middle of town the location is perfect briac jeremy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2019

This was my first time to Normandy with a guided group so the choice of the hotel wasn’t mine. However I was delighted to find the hotel, including the rooms, very clean and well maintained and most of all the bed is so comfy . People and traffic noise were so minimal.
Lovely staff, always very welcoming and really caring about their guests.

Location is excellent for the town centre as there are many restaurants plus good shopping and historic sightseeing within easy walking distance. One doesn't need a car to enjoy this neighbourhood.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Lisa546
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Royal Hotel Caen Centre, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best Regards!

Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Royal Hotel, Caen.
We caught the Twisto bus, Line 3, from the Airport which was only 1.50 euros to the Theatre stop in the Centre of Caen. From there it was 5 minutes to the Hotel in the Republique Square which at the moment is being refurbished. The staff were very helpful and attentive. On our two stays here we had room 105 and 304, the latter being the better room. The only thing I did mention was that a mirror would be good by the plugs to the side of the TV and also some hooks in the bathroom door would be useful.
The Continental breakfast was good and varied. Regards Gary Saunders

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Royal Hotel Caen Centre, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best Regards!

Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

Poor excuse for a four star hotel. Arrived late having booked it at short notice. Chose it as a four star so it would have facilities. Well I have no idea how this is a four star. No amenities in the bathroom, cheap linen, pillow like a sausage, a tiny packet of instant coffee. Incredible really for 150 euros. I have no issue paying for something but when it’s so far from value it really is annoying. Add to this they didn’t tell us about the massive road works happening right outside the hotel. All in all exceptionally poor. When we brought this up with the manager she started shouting at us ????? Rude to me is fine, rude to my wife is an entirely different matter. Extraordinary I would stay anywhere else in Caen, which by the by is a lovely little city. But his hotel deserves a very wide miss indeed.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Norfolkbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Your last stay in Caen obviously left you with a terrible souvenir and we are very sorry to be held responsible for that.
The road works on the square in front of the hotel indisposed you at the highest point even if not in progress at the time of your arrival in the evening and you felt cheated by us although you booked your room on internet just before arriving and had no contact with us in between: we had no chance to warn you of the visual discomfort. Yet we tried to suggest courtesy compensation, offered you breakfast and declared open to any other gesture that you should find appropriate.
You settled your bill the day of your departure and no money was taken from you previously. You were not trapped with us and could freely change for another hotel.
We were firm on one point: we do not appreciate being threatened with “very bad comment on internet”. We regret that you felt it was discourteous.
We regret even more that you never shared with us your being discontent of the hotel itself.
Even though your judgement and sayings are unusually harsh and we find it undeserved, you can be certain that it will be taken into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

We were made to feel welcome by staff in this comfortable,friendly hotel. I found Jeremy on the desk most helpful and obliging.Rooms we’re clean and contained everything necessary for our four night stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank CoraClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

I have stayed in this hotel,the staff at the front desk were welcoming, courteous,multilingual and helpful.(expect friendly smiles and a real concern for making your stay wonderful )
Jeremie ,Laurie and an other girl were so pleasant ,excellent service !!
Very nice reception area with a bar.The decor is very pleasing to the eye and a lot of history too !!
Our room was neat and tidy with a very comfortable bed for a restful sleep .
The breakfast area had a good selection of pastries.cheeses and bread and more !(yummy !!) the surrounding music was magical .
The Royal Hotel Caen Centre is withing easy walking distance of many restaurants ,as well as the sigths of Caen .
No regrets in choosing The Royal Hotel for our six days stay .

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaLake2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019


Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews