We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$103
Hotels.comUS$103
PricelineUS$102
eDreamsUS$102
TravelocityUS$103
Destinia.comUS$116
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
218
241
43
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
241
43
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking walking distance middle of town the location is perfect briac jeremy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2019

Poor excuse for a four star hotel. Arrived late having booked it at short notice. Chose it as a four star so it would have facilities. Well I have no idea how this is a four star. No amenities in the bathroom, cheap linen, pillow like a sausage, a tiny packet of instant coffee. Incredible really for 150 euros. I have no issue paying for something but when it’s so far from value it really is annoying. Add to this they didn’t tell us about the massive road works happening right outside the hotel. All in all exceptionally poor. When we brought this up with the manager she started shouting at us ????? Rude to me is fine, rude to my wife is an entirely different matter. Extraordinary I would stay anywhere else in Caen, which by the by is a lovely little city. But his hotel deserves a very wide miss indeed.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Norfolkbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Your last stay in Caen obviously left you with a terrible souvenir and we are very sorry to be held responsible for that.
The road works on the square in front of the hotel indisposed you at the highest point even if not in progress at the time of your arrival in the evening and you felt cheated by us although you booked your room on internet just before arriving and had no contact with us in between: we had no chance to warn you of the visual discomfort. Yet we tried to suggest courtesy compensation, offered you breakfast and declared open to any other gesture that you should find appropriate.
You settled your bill the day of your departure and no money was taken from you previously. You were not trapped with us and could freely change for another hotel.
We were firm on one point: we do not appreciate being threatened with “very bad comment on internet”. We regret that you felt it was discourteous.
We regret even more that you never shared with us your being discontent of the hotel itself.
Even though your judgement and sayings are unusually harsh and we find it undeserved, you can be certain that it will be taken into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

We were made to feel welcome by staff in this comfortable,friendly hotel. I found Jeremy on the desk most helpful and obliging.Rooms we’re clean and contained everything necessary for our four night stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank CoraClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

I have stayed in this hotel,the staff at the front desk were welcoming, courteous,multilingual and helpful.(expect friendly smiles and a real concern for making your stay wonderful )
Jeremie ,Laurie and an other girl were so pleasant ,excellent service !!
Very nice reception area with a bar.The decor is very pleasing to the eye and a lot of history too !!
Our room was neat and tidy with a very comfortable bed for a restful sleep .
The breakfast area had a good selection of pastries.cheeses and bread and more !(yummy !!) the surrounding music was magical .
The Royal Hotel Caen Centre is withing easy walking distance of many restaurants ,as well as the sigths of Caen .
No regrets in choosing The Royal Hotel for our six days stay .

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaLake2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019


Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Super Hotel with a really nice friendly feel to it. We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month whilst attending events around the 75th Anniversary of the D D day landings. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was jolly good. Its worth paying a touch extra for a room with a view over the square at the front of the Hotel. Its being improved presently but will be super when its finished. The owner of the Hotel was brilliant in sorting some issues regarding obtaining passes for a very high profile event we attended. Thank you Briac for sorting this for us :)

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAndRosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

The hotel has a useful location for walking to the historical sites and among the pedestrian zone. The hotel was very welcoming and the rooms were comfortable. There is a small, but effective bar area. The breakfast is a bit of a disappointment - it's just average with a somewhat limited selection of some items and a single coffee machine that can get busy. There is public, pay parking across the street (Republic) that was fine and convenient. The restaurant next door (Le Royal Brasserie) was quite good for dinner.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giorgitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID B, Gérant at Best Western Royal Hotel Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the service.
Best Regards,
Jérémie / Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews