We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$106
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Expedia.comUS$106
Priceline
eDreamsUS$106
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
217
83
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
83
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2019

Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre was a disappointment. We reserved 3 nights at the hotel trusting in the good reviews we had read. We expected a nice hotel and room. Unfortunately what we experienced was a "bare bones hotel" with small, dormitory type rooms, no AC (they do have small fans upon request) and no lift - we had more that 70 steps to our room. (Note - The hotel itself is rated at 2 stars, which in some ways seems generous.) Having to keep the windows open at night meant we heard a lot of noise outside. We explained our concerns to the proprietor, Zoe, and she said we were welcome to move to another hotel and would not be charged for the next night. We moved to the Ibis Styles (FYI - a very nice hotel nearby). Mathieu sent us an email after our stay and said they would not charge us if we would not write any reviews about our experience with them and Hotel La Fontaine. We did not accept their “offer” and paid in full for 2 nights but only stayed one night. Hopefully this honest review will help other travelers avoid our mistake.
Update: After our review (a month later) Mathieu sent another message that because of our review he was charging us for all 3 nights of our reservation (we only stayed one). Fortunately for us this was the only bad experience we had during our 3 week trip to France.

I've attached Mathieu's messages to this review.

Room tip: Ibis Styles nearby
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Dear Haters, You want to be dissapointed. You reserve 3nights with an online travel agency As write on our description hotel la fontaine is a 2 stars hotel completely renoved in city center without AC (16°/60F in september and propose fan), no elevator (we take in charge luggage). We propose double Superior room for a more confortable stay.
You decide to cancel the first night the day before the arrival day. As write on your reservation it's not free cancellation.
The day after, when you check-in around 1pm and when I see your attitude I proposed you to go to an another hotel for free cancellation (your wife was already crying in the stairs haven't seen the room yet). We only want happy guests. You don't accept. You decide to stay in our hotel for the 2 last nights.
We take in charge your lugggage and offer you cofee.
The day after, you want to leave our hotel completely renoved in city center.
We proposed you to not stay in our hotel at all, you decline. We proposed you to offer you 1no-show, you decline. You want to be dissapointed. Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We loved our stay here. Room was spacious ( we had a family room) and spotless. Lots of parking available on the street in front of the hotel. Due to construction, it was a bit tricky to get there! The breakfast (10 euros) was absolutely delicious and exactly what I love! Fresh bread, croissants, chocolatines, homemade yogurt, breakfast meats, and the best camembert. Loved their coffee machine that could brew you whatever you wanted. Fresh juice too. We explored the city. Tons of food options everywhere. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Thank you to share your experience in our familly run hotel. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Most comfortable bed, good shower, very small room and no lift. Breakfast quite basic. Owner very helpful on restaurants and sites to see. Quiet location though very well placed near sights in the centre of town.

Room tip: Go for a back room on first floor.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brelade55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Thank you. We take in charge luggage. basic breakfast is served for 10€ including basic home made yogurt and basic home made cake as pastries with Isigny butter. We propose superior double room for a more confortable stay. with sofa. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and what a pleasant little surprise this was. Wonderfully located in the centre of town with short walks to shops, restaurants, transport and sites. Well done to husband and wife team Zoe and Matthieu.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank michaelwD5280LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Thank you. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

We were spending an extra day in France to explore the Normandy coastline and funds were low so we went with a hotel not too expensive, well located for the sights and museums and a short hop to the boat. Well talk about discovering a diamond in a coal mine! The hotel is family run with the owner living onsite with his family. The hotel is in the middle of Caen which is not big. Parking can be on street - 2 hrs payable or in underground carparks - no fun with a roof box! The hotel is very clean and very possibly under priced - the welcome is warm and they could not help us enough with perfect English too. The city of Caen was a delight - not too big with beautiful buildings and easily to plod around as the centre of it is mostly pedestrianised. Loads of bars, restaurants and shops with a few beautiful churches. Fifteen minutes drive to Pegasus Bridge - if you want somewhere to explore the D Day sites - you could do a lot worse and no better in my opinion

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank FSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Thank you very much. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews