We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$106
PricelineUS$106
eDreamsUS$106
TripadvisorUS$106
Orbitz.comUS$106
TravelocityUS$106
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
217
83
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
83
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We loved our stay here. Room was spacious ( we had a family room) and spotless. Lots of parking available on the street in front of the hotel. Due to construction, it was a bit tricky to get there! The breakfast (10 euros) was absolutely delicious and exactly what I love! Fresh bread, croissants, chocolatines, homemade yogurt, breakfast meats, and the best camembert. Loved their coffee machine that could brew you whatever you wanted. Fresh juice too. We explored the city. Tons of food options everywhere. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Thank you to share your experience in our familly run hotel. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Most comfortable bed, good shower, very small room and no lift. Breakfast quite basic. Owner very helpful on restaurants and sites to see. Quiet location though very well placed near sights in the centre of town.

Room tip: Go for a back room on first floor.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brelade55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Thank you. We take in charge luggage. basic breakfast is served for 10€ including basic home made yogurt and basic home made cake as pastries with Isigny butter. We propose superior double room for a more confortable stay. with sofa. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and what a pleasant little surprise this was. Wonderfully located in the centre of town with short walks to shops, restaurants, transport and sites. Well done to husband and wife team Zoe and Matthieu.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank michaelwD5280LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Thank you. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

We were spending an extra day in France to explore the Normandy coastline and funds were low so we went with a hotel not too expensive, well located for the sights and museums and a short hop to the boat. Well talk about discovering a diamond in a coal mine! The hotel is family run with the owner living onsite with his family. The hotel is in the middle of Caen which is not big. Parking can be on street - 2 hrs payable or in underground carparks - no fun with a roof box! The hotel is very clean and very possibly under priced - the welcome is warm and they could not help us enough with perfect English too. The city of Caen was a delight - not too big with beautiful buildings and easily to plod around as the centre of it is mostly pedestrianised. Loads of bars, restaurants and shops with a few beautiful churches. Fifteen minutes drive to Pegasus Bridge - if you want somewhere to explore the D Day sites - you could do a lot worse and no better in my opinion

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank FSMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Thank you very much. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019 via mobile

Great location in the centre of Caen and everything within easy walking distance. Room was small and basic but very clean, no kettle but coffee was available from a machine in the kitchen area at any time wanted. Could do with air conditioning unit or at least a fan as the room was hot and there is some background noise with the large windows open. Breakfast €10 for continental & €5 for pastry coffee & juice. Lots of cafes close by if alternative needed. Access to hotel is via stairs and there are no lifts to the upper floors so this may be a consideration for those with mobility issues. Parking is free on the street for a limited time period or at underground car park around the corner. Owner is very friendly helping us with our bags on arrival and bringing us coffee to our room after check in. Would definitely stay here if we came back to Caen

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank hippo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matcharb, Gérant at Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Thank you. We propose fan at reception. Zoé and Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews