We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Studio, fantastic owner”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Caen, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lhmarshal...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unclean and poorly kept apartment in Caen - tourist trap”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The only positive for this property was the location - in the heart of Caen. Floors were dirty; only one towel per person in bathroom; dishes and silverware were dirty and had to be washed before use; food (including a rotting onion) was left in the refrigerator; bed was very uncomfortable; the bathroom was almost too small to brush teeth without banging heads on cabinets; doors on cabinets were falling away in kitchen and bath; front door lock was very difficult to lock and unlock; no instructions were left as to what to do with garbage. I would never lease this property again or anything from this owner. I left over a week early, unable to tolerate the conditions any longer. People of Caen were wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location within the city.
Liked least: Unclean status of the apartment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny080
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Studio, fantastic owner”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was my fifth trip to Europe, first to France. I would say without hesitation that this was my best accommodation yet. Great combination of location, condition, amenities, and most importantly, quality of the owner.

Astrid was simply an amazing host - she is very proud of her city- quite active and well known there, and she is a great asset for you as a traveler. The studio is wonderful. Modern, clean, and is well stocked. As far as the location, you could not do better in Caen - it is centrally located in the old city, a 5 minute walk from the church of St Pierre (also a transportation hub for the buses and trams). This is also where the castle is - originally built in 1077 by William the conqueror.

I used Caen as my base for a week to see Normandy and could not have been more pleased. Astrid made me feel at home in a family, and I will never forget her, or my trip there.

Travelers tip - Astrid has a smaller studio on the same floor that would be perfect for young adults traveling with mom and Dad.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyMum...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My teenage daughter and I stayed at this studio for 3 nights. Astrid, who owns this apartment, was most helpful in planning our trip to Normandy even before we arrived. She arranged our transport from the ferry at Ouistreham to the city centre so that we could make the early shuttle bus tour to Mont Sant Michel, even dropping us quickly at a delicious bakery beforehand. Astrid also gave us great advice on restaurants and things to do.

The apartment is centrally located to the shops and buses of the grand old town in Caen. It is also clean and comfortable. We arrived to a fridge stocked with milk, a bottle of cider and jam and caramel home-made by Astrid's daughter. Yum! We planned our trip to ensure we would be in Caen for the Friday markets just a 10-minute stroll away and had a ball eating the wonderful seafood and pastries of the region.

The kitchen was small, but well-equipped and organised, more than sufficient for us to cook up a storm with our fresh crab, oysters, prawns and scallops.

We also found the people of Caen to be kind and helpful in the shops, and in ensuring we were waiting at the correct bus stops. We have visited regional France on 2 other trips and have found Caen to be the most friendly city by far.

Merci beaucoup, Astrid!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kind hostess
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proseccol...
evanston, il
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Adorable studio in great location”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the studio for about a month, from early September to early October 2014. The studio is spacious (for a studio), with a large bedroom/living room, a separate kitchen, and bath. The studio was completely re-done about 2 years ago, and the design is ingenious with excellent use of space. The apartment is full of light, with a lovely view of the Eglise St. Pierre. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, the shower is terrific, and there is lots of storage space. I found the bed surprisingly comfortable. The only downsides: You can sometimes hear noise from students during the evening, particularly on Thursday nights, but it tends to abate by 11:30 or so. The bathroom sink is awkwardly placed under a cabinet, so you have to be very careful not to hit your head as you brush your teeth. Also, I found the apartment to be slightly expensive. But apart from that, I was very happy to be there, and could easily have stayed longer. I was traveling alone, and it was the perfect size for one person. Also, the location is excellent. Caen's best restaurants are in walking distance, as are the two best markets (Friday and Sunday).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maudee E
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming apartment with fabulous view”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent an excellent week in Astrid's charming French apartment. The location for a visit to Caen is perfect...right in the hub. It's in a pedestrian zone and you can walk everywhere....to the wonderful chateau overlooking the city, restaurants, the tourist bureau....but with Astrid as your host, you don't need the tourist bureau! Astrid is a bubbly, warm person who is very proud of her city and so helpful with planning your outings. The apartment is small but has everything you could possibly need including an excellent bathroom, small well equipped kitchen and a lovely balcony with a wonderful view overlooking ancient buildings.....magnificent with a full moon! Right outside the apartment is a gorgeous French merry go round. There is so much to see in this area such as the D Day sites, the Bayeux Tapestry and Mont St Michel. There is no parking at the apartment but Astrid is very helpful in directing you to nearby free parking. So lovely to meet you Astrid and thank you for your wonderful hospitality! We hope to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the best hostess you could wish for.... and the view from the apartment
Liked least: parking not at the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing