We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/10
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$137
PricelineUS$136
travelup.comUS$160
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
133
165
44
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
165
44
13
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Great location and newly renovated room were very nice. The hotel is walking distance from lots of restaurants, shopping and night life. If you have a car, I suggest reserving space in the garage in advance as there is not much street parking.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Wendee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

I stayed in the Norman city of Caen, France for 1 night in September 2019.

My stay didn't have the best start as despite specifically requesting a quiet room away from lifts, I was put in a room absolutely slap bang next to the lift - less than 2 feet away - it made me laugh so much I took a photo which I have attached.

I arrived from the Caen train station by taxi - very easy. The hotel is in the centre of town, very close to the walled chateau ruins and abbeys, shopping area, etc. Five minutes from the tourist office where you can get maps etc. Easy to walk everywhere.

But the best thing about this hotel is the employees - they were so nice, always willing to help, and all of them spoke perfect English.

My room was a Comfort Double with a lovely large double bed.
Safety deposit box, flat-screen TV, wardrobe, bottle of water
Great private bathroom; it was large and immaculate with free toiletries.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2019

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Reception staff were very knowledgeable and helpful with things to see and getting around the city. Decor lovely, rooms cosy but stylish with great finish. Loved have the Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary coffee pods topped up each day.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at this excellent hotel for two nights whilst visiting Normandy and the WW2 beaches and memorials. It was the perfect place to stay in the lovely city of Caen. The location is great and we found parking in the nearby Place de Republic really easy with the good directions we received from the hotel and it is literally just around the corner.
Our room was on the fifth floor and had a lovely view over the town. Very well decorated, with a lovely bathroom and super fluffy towels. Plenty of storage space too. We had the express breakfast which was a continental breakfast with a good choice and well worth the 8 euros.
The absolutely best thing about the hotel however is the staff. Everyone was good but the ladies on reception where fantastic. Check in was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.
They recommended and booked restaurants for us. Le Petit B was a winner. Oh and next door is a lovely Salon de The, Josephine’s which does an excellent cream tea! If we were to return to Caen we would certainly stay at this hotel and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Topsy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2019

The Best Western La Moderne in Caen is easy to find and perhaps 200m at most from the parking lot Republique. The women at the reception are beyond kind and friendly, really very helpful. Our room was large, a very nice king bed, perfect bathroom with lush towels. There is an elevator and even a nice bar in the lobby. Breakfast is extensive. A very nice experience, first class all the way.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews