We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
70
95
42
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
95
42
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to train station very helpful and friendly staff overnight stay recommend this hotel clean rooms walking distance yogurt juno castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2020

Great hotel. Good quality for the low price. Staff was very friendly. Only the breakfast was bad (due to coronavirus). There was a small secured parking lot. Hotel was close to the centre. I would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hannev405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthieu GARDERES, Directeur général at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
We take notice about your remarks on the breakfast service.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020

I needed a room just for myself for an overnight stay following a long journey from SW France and before catching an early morning ferry back to the UK and this hotel was perfect. A very reasonable price for the room and for secure car parking - very useful as I had stocked up on wine!! A very warm and friendly welcome on arrival and departure. A comfortable room with a good shower. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NedB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthieu GARDERES, Directeur général at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019

Very clean rooms, well-designed, reliable hot water for showers, very helpful and friendly staff, good breakfasts offering a variety of choices which should satisfy most tastes. Excellent coffee and tea selections. Wonderful hot chocolate which was surprisingly rich in flavour considering the hot chocolate came from a machine. Very good quality. The breakfast buffet offered delicious petit pain au chocolat pastries, a fresh-baked croissants, muffins, loaves of bread, yogurts, and fresh fruit among other choices.

Room tip: I loved this hotel, and would definitely recommend it to my friends. Great choice, good value for money.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arleneeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
It is very nice for all the team to read this kind of feedback.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

I needed somewhere to spend the night before the ferry. This came up as reasonable and it’s a steal. Room isn’t big but I am by myself it’s ultra clean and the showers great. WiFi is best I have had in France. Realising I was on a motorbike they immediately opened the garage to keep it safe. Full marks. They even start breakfast at 4 am. That’s a little to early for me.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank daverL9917BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
In fact our breakfast started from 4am to 11am in order to satisfy the maximum of customers.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

My overnight stay in Caen in Normandy was one that was comfortable The Hotel de France is a good place to stay at a reasonable price and is within walking distance to all the local attractions making it easy to get around by foot or bus.
The hotel staff was very friendly and with my knowledge of the French language, it was easy and fun to carry a conversation with the ladies at the reception desk. The room was clean and comfortable with a shower and free wi-fi.

Room tip: It's not a bad idea to choose a room away from the street where there are traffic and the noise of people walking about.
Date of stay: September 2018
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Good afternoon Mister,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
In fact, we are very close to the city center and even more to the train station.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews