We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$82
Hotels.comUS$82
PricelineUS$82
eDreamsUS$82
TravelocityUS$82
CheapTicketsUS$82
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
70
95
42
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
95
42
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to train station very helpful and friendly staff overnight stay recommend this hotel clean rooms walking distance yogurt juno castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

I needed somewhere to spend the night before the ferry. This came up as reasonable and it’s a steal. Room isn’t big but I am by myself it’s ultra clean and the showers great. WiFi is best I have had in France. Realising I was on a motorbike they immediately opened the garage to keep it safe. Full marks. They even start breakfast at 4 am. That’s a little to early for me.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank daverL9917BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
In fact our breakfast started from 4am to 11am in order to satisfy the maximum of customers.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

My overnight stay in Caen in Normandy was one that was comfortable The Hotel de France is a good place to stay at a reasonable price and is within walking distance to all the local attractions making it easy to get around by foot or bus.
The hotel staff was very friendly and with my knowledge of the French language, it was easy and fun to carry a conversation with the ladies at the reception desk. The room was clean and comfortable with a shower and free wi-fi.

Room tip: It's not a bad idea to choose a room away from the street where there are traffic and the noise of people walking about.
Date of stay: September 2018
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Good afternoon Mister,
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
In fact, we are very close to the city center and even more to the train station.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

We stayed at this hotel during a business trip for the Normandy 75th anniversary celebrations. We only used the hotel as a base as our tour started at 9am each day and we didn't arrive back till late evening. However, the staff were super friendly, there is a small but lovely bar in the next room from reception which is open for access all night if you wish to socialise or watch tv or play cards or just escape from your room.

We stayed in a double room with a cot provided for our 6 month old baby. There is extra blanket provided in the closet to make the cot more comfortable for the baby.

The room was spacious enough for the 3 of us and there is a small lift to take up your luggage and push chair. Good shower, clean with hot running water. Some small cosmetics provided in the bathroom but not replaced so i recommend to bring your own shower gel etc.

No coffee/tea facilities in the room and breakfast is very minimal with only continental options, nothing hot. They don't cater for vegans but maybe upon request in advance? There are tea and coffee/juices provided at breakfast. I could find only an apple yoghurt for breakfast.

No restaurant on site but there are plenty of local places to eat. There is a complex directly opposite the hotel with lots of restaurants, and only a 15 minute walk to the centre of town where there are lots more restaurants to choose from.

Overall this was a nice hotel to stay in for the 3 nights we stayed. Good use for a base/somewhere to sleep.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lynseylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a complete comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
We take notice about all your remarks like coffee/tea facilities in the room or our products in the breakfast to improve our services.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

Extremely friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Nice, clean rooms. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended! If ever we are back in town, we would definitely return for another stay. Will be sure to tell friends about this place.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank toddrichardl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Good afternoon Sir,

Thank you very much by all the staff for your feedback.
It's very nice of you for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hôtel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019

We stayed here for a night on our way back to Paris. We found the staff very helpful, our room very clean and tidy, and breakfast was very enjoyable. We found many restaurants nearby and the hotel offered free parking which was excellent.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passenger17010775845
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Gérant at Campanile Caen Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a comment about your stay in our establishment.
We are glad that your visit gave you satisfaction.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in the hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews