We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for children”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hameau Pottier

House and decked outside dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and decked outside dining area
View from the bedrooms Beautiful beamed salon with open fire place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
House and decked outside dining area
View from the bedrooms
Beautiful beamed salon with open fire place
Master Bedroom with new king bed
Dining Area
The open log fire- logs are inclusive
House from the garden
Family Bedroom with 2 doubles
Twin Bedroom
Lounge and open fire
The downstairs double bedroom
Pine Bedroom with double bed
Spacious hallway
Kitchen with 5 stoves, oven, microwave, d/w, w/m & dryer
Outside dining area
The games room in the basement
Downstairs Bathroom
Summer in Normandy
View from the family room
The house in it's grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caen, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sTcO
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Spacious house but poorly kept”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Spacious house with large kitchen and dining/lounge area. Lovely big garden with boules pit that contributed to hours of entertainment. 2 bathrooms with separate toilets. Rooms poorly decorated and carpets are filthy. Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment. 5 very well used towels provided of which only 3 were bath towels and considering that we were 5 adults it was not adequate, especially as both the dishwasher and the washing machine had no water supply. The latter was reported to the owner and to be quite honest, we had no positive outcome. BBQ available which was really nice but the outdoor furniture have seen better days and the seating are very wobbly. Nothing like the picture. The wood has not been treated and both table and benches are in a poor condition. This is really a shame as this is a lovely house
That worst is to come - the house was filthy. The bathtubs had to be scrubbed before we could use them. The grime and grout and spiderwebs are all over the place and we have taken photos as proof. This property needs deep cleaning desperately as it seems like this has not been done for years.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time reply and we are truly very sorry about the condition of house when you stayed. During 2014 we had a problem with the cleaning and management company - a firm we have used for several years and hadn't let us down. Without going into the details we are very pleased to say this has been resolved, and during 2015 we had no adverse feedback about the cleaning. We also conducted 3 spot checks through the season and the high standards that we expect were being met.

All the rooms were redecorated during the winter of 2014 and older towels have been replaced with new ones.

With regard to the washing machine and dishwasher - I think its fair to say this was down to communication problems. The problem was reported on a Saturday, we sent our local handyman to the house on the Sunday (very difficult to get help in France on a Sunday, but we managed to) to look at both whilst you were away from the house. Both the dishwasher and washing machine were tested and found to be working. The handyman left them on a full cycle whilst you were out. We'd concluded that as we didn't hear from you again (and didn't want to interrupt your holiday again) that all was well. We stayed at the house shortly afterwards and they were working fine too. We have since taken steps to simplify the instructions on how to use.

All of the outdoor furniture was power hosed, sanded and re-varnished in 2014, and the sun loungers replaced in summer 2015 and the house now has Wifi and a large widescreen, smart internet TV, brand new fridge and cooker.

Once again -thank you very much for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWAKBeerf...
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great house for children”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in Hameau Pottier. Our extended family, six adults and three children under seven, had plenty of space and the large lounge and kitchen were ideal. The weather was cloudy, with rain at times, so the fire in the evening, with an endless supply of logs, was very welcome.

I agree with comments about the general state of the house. Cleaning was not up to the standard we expected -we found curtains hanging off hooks, bedroom carpets not cleaned and stale food in the kitchen sink. The upstairs bathroom was dark with a small bath, not large enough for adults, so we all made use of the larger bathroom downstairs.

The large gardens are lovely and were ideal for the children. The location of the house is good -close to a small village with a Michelin starred restaurant which we can recommend. Honfleur is not far and we had enjoyable day trips to Deauville, Trouville and Rouen.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you made use of the endless supply of logs which are there for guests to help themselves too...just sorry that the weather was not better for you. We did have problems with our cleaning and management company in France - this was addressed at the end of the summer 2014 and following numerous spot checks we are very pleased that this problem has been resolved. The damaged curtain in the master bedroom that had been damaged has been replaced. The shower head in the upstairs bathroom has been moved to a higher location, and whilst not a large shower - as its under the eaves - I'm 6 feet tall and can now fit under it much more comfortably than before. Over the last 12 months we have continued to modernise and redecorate the house whilst still retaining its French charm. The house also now benefits from Wifi and large, smart internet enabled flat screen TV. Thanks again for your feedback - we really do appreciate you taking the time write.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCarey88
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
Reviewed 28 February 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We had a lovely week in Hameau Potier. The house, although not particularly modern, was rustic and charming. There was plenty of space for our party to spread out, and the big kitchen and lovely big fireplace were definitely the house's best bits.

I have to agree in part with the previous review about the mattresses. Whilst ours was fine, some of our party found theirs to be uncomfortable, but on a whole, this is easily rectified and the rest of the house was in good working order and comfortable.

The location of this gite is good. Close to a small town with an amazing Michelin Star restaurant. Highly recommended. We went on several nice walks and visited Honfleur, which was only a 20 minute drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room and location
Liked least: some (but not all) of the mattresses
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your review. Over the last 12 months we have continued to modernise and redecorate the house whilst still retaining its French charm. Whilst it is difficult to have mattresses which suit everyone, we have replaced them where perhaps needed. The house also now benefits from Wifi and large, smart internet enabled flat screen TV. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshir...
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice house, pretty location but fixtures and fittings very tired.”
Reviewed 14 December 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Warnings first. We found a couple of the beds unusable - mattress springs poking you in the back-and many items tired and needing replacement. We also doubt whether the house had been cleaned before our arrival, we had to wash all cutlery, glasses, plates and cups before we could use them. I'd advise you to ask whether mattresses had been replaced before committing to hire the house. Outside the grass had not been cut in weeks and parts of the garden were like Steptoe's yard.
Good things. The house is potentially lovely and would be transformed by some TLC. It's environs are very pretty, quiet and rural, the local village is about 25 minutes walk and has basic amenities. Honfleur and Pont Audemer are are short drive and pleasant - we especially liked Pont Audemer as it is not over crowded with tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of the house
Liked least: Time expired furniture and fittings, not very clean.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2012
We can only apologise for your below par experience during your stay in August 2011. Our changeover company had, unbeknown to us, all but ceased trading and had definitely stopped their cleaning checks and supervision. We now have a new company in place, who are extremely professional and thorough. The grass is cut weekly, however, does grow quickly during the summer months. I have slept in all but one of the beds and not had any issues with any mattresses - I'm sorry they weren't appropriate for your comfort. We will review them all again for the 2012 season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rctina69
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fabulous house !!!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed here with 12 friends for my 50th birthday. It was perfect !!! Just 30
mins from the ferry and very easy to find. We didn't take the kids so with only
5 bedrooms it was a bit friendly for some. The kitchen was brilliant as we had a
few chefs with us and we did a lot of cooking this was very important. We will
definitely be back next year with the kids . PERFECT !

Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$352
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing