We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful little house in the heart of Bayeux”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bayeux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Philip J
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful little house in the heart of Bayeux”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After having some trouble trying to find the opening to the lane we were greeted by Christine and her daughter who were charming and very helpful. We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet and secluded the site and its courtyard were while being within metres of the bustling heart of the town. A very comfortable place to stay, full of charm and feeling very French. The best part is you are literally 15 metres from the high street which makes early morning visits to the bakery a 2 minute walk. Overall, I would highly recommend this house, particularly for its location. Just one comment re the entrance. We have a BMW 5 series and it only just fits up the lane. To achieve this you have to manoeuvre across the busy road and reverse up onto the opposite pavement. This is not one for the large SUV owner or the nervous parker. It is also really hard to find the entrance first time so I would spend some time on StreetView to get your bearings first. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Entry from the road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecoupar...
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great central location”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Christine is a very helpful host. Great house in a central location. It was great having a private courtyard and a garage for the car. Thank you, we hop to stay again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
855Kathry...
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great location, charming and helpful hosts”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of four stayed at Les Gites de la Lanterne, using it as a launch point to see Bayeux and the Normandy beaches. The location is perfect, centrally located in Bayeux and within walking distance of all major sites and restaurants. The kitchen is well equipped, allowing us to eat in as often as we chose. The courtyard was a welcome and cool resting spot after long days out touring. Our hosts were very helpful, guiding us to the property from the train station, taking us back to the train station upon our departure, and answering all of our questions. My only caution - note the pictures of the winding staircase. Those with less mobility will find them a challenge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary D
2 reviews
“Lovely house - perfect stay!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was a lovely house. It was indeed very quiet and private. We had to take just a few steps to get to a street filled with restaurants and shops. Christine and her husband were wonderful to give us directions and recommendations. There is a small grocery store within walking distance for everything you need to cook. The kitchen had everything you need. It was a perfect place for day trips to the various beaches. The wifi worked great. We would definitely return here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshivy
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday rental and great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were waiting until we received our damage deposit before we reviewed our stay. Christine met us upon arrival and ensured we had everything we required. Although the language barriers were evident we were still able to communicate effectively. The gite was beautiful with adequate space for 4 people. Bedrooms were good sizes with views over the courtyard. The stairs, although narrow, were not a problem for our elderly parents. As long as you are careful there shouldn't be any problems. The location is perfect for exploring Normandy, although Bayeux itself appeared to close between 9 -10pm! We would stay in the gite again if visiting Normandy - there is also a one bedroom apartment in the courtyard which Christine rents out. Renting both accommodations would be ideal for 6 people in the same group.

Thank you Christine for great communication before our stay as well as a perfect rental in Bayeux.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom we stayed in was adorable
Liked least: The weather - beyond all of our control :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing