We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
155
78
20
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
78
20
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star view of the bay hot tub every morning booked a junior suite wonderful place to enjoy special hotel amuse bouche sw france first morning lounge chairs spoke english standard room good size stayed here for three nights on arrival the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Views: stunning. Pool: check. Hot tub: check. Beach access: check. Service: very good. Price: stunning. Food: average to disappointing.

We booked a room with terrace for three nights, with a reservation for one night in their Michelin-starred restaurant. You have to be prepared to climb up and down stairs and ramps because the hotel is literally carved into the side of a hill and elegantly follows the terrain.

Our room was large, with a nice bed, separate toilet and large bathroom. Tile flooring and no rugs. Limited decoration, so the room looks like a big concrete space. Glass door and window span the entire front of the room and looks out over the gorgeous view of the bay. Nice rain shower in the tub (very high step to get over the edge of the tub), but we had a better one in the lowly Mercure in Beziers. Skimpy towels for this level of hotel.

The real disappointment was the restaurant. Hot breakfast each morning with a decent selection, but the scrambled eggs tasted like they had been made from powdered eggs. No cream or butter in them like good French scrambled eggs should be. You’re better off boiling your own fresh egg if you want eggs. And the dinner - well, definitely not Michelin star quality. Very slow service - took more than three hours to serve what was basically a three course meal. First course was a very creative and tasty presentation of encornet. Our main course was a nicely cooked Saint Pierre (John Dory), but it was smothered in a powerful basil and lemon sauce that destroyed the delicate flavor of the fish. We each tried a different fruit dessert, but neither was anything more than you’d get in any good French restaurant. Why the Michelin star? We had a much more creative and tasty meal the night before in the Neptune restaurant just down the road.

Probably still the best place to stay in Collioure, but not worth the price in our opinion.

Room tip: Be prepared to walk down and up a lot of stairs.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jvtravelerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed with my wife and ten year old daughter in August. From arrival to departure we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The views from the hotel across the bay to the town and castle are stunning. Our room was beautifully decorated, well equipped and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and gave us perfect uninterrupted sleep each night. The rooms are well insulated too and you don’t hear a sound at night. Our room didn’t have a terrace/balcony as all of those rooms had been taken when we booked but being on the second floor we had a wonderfully high arched ceiling which added to the roominess and the coolness of the room. The room had a huge window which fully opened inwards and we often found ourselves sat at the open window gazing across the bay with a glass of wine in hand of an evening! So the lack of balcony was a minor issue! The air con worked superbly and kept us cool despite the high temperatures. The pool and jacuzzi are just great too - both clean and well maintained, perfectly positioned for the views and never busy despite the height of season. I’ve read comments about the breakfast service from other reviewers however once again we found it perfect. A really good selection of foods (including bacon and eggs!), cereals, pastries, yoghurts, fruits, juice, meats, cheese, array of breads, tea and coffee - all in as much supply as you want! But the highlight of breakfast for us, even topping the lovely food, was the location, sat on the terrace, in the lovely morning sun, with the sea gently lapping literally next to you. The breakfast isn’t cheap but I can only say that it’s a delightful experience that’s worth every penny (or euro!). And much preferable to a walk down into the town where it isn’t much cheaper anyway! We found the service and the staff perfect every morning too. If you want somewhere memorable you should try this hotel. I’m hoping that we’ll be back - so a message to the management - keep up the fantastic work - and don’t put up the prices!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed 3 nights. On arrival we were met by Sebastian- what a great host! We booked a deluxe room. I was a little disappointed in the room, not really my idea of deluxe. It’s worth noting that most rooms do not have balconies or terraces and it’s worth specifically asking before you book. The bathroom was a little tired looking and the furniture too. On the plus side it was a good 6 foot, very comfortable bed. The hotel has an excellent position with fabulous views of the bay. It’s an easy walk to all the restaurants, shops and sights. There is a small pebble and stone beach outside the hotel. Best to bring “sea shoes” for getting in and out of the sea. The water was crystal clear. Breakfast is ok, but we preferred to stroll round the bay to have fresh croissants at a local cafe. Far cheaper. The hotel restaurant is excellent, with wonderful views of the bay and very attentive staff. David in particular was great. There are lots of steps!

Room tip: Ask if you want a balcony or terrace, very few rooms do.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Chrissie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

It is a lovely hotel and has a great location with beautiful views. All this has been said, but there are some niggles.
Breakfast is v hit and miss. The first morning was dreadful, with tables covered in dirty plates and nothing laid up. The lady on that morning was useless and as the other reviewer said over stretched. The next three mornings were a lot better, but so painful getting a coffee, or some milk,
Or anything really! The buffet is fine, but nothing amazing. If there had been another option we wouldn’t have bothered. The last morning was classic though as I got told off (I mean properly like a child) for using the glass for my orange juice. Wow!

There is no where to sit during the day of the weather is poor, and the rooms are small, although we were in the better rooms with a garden.

The pool has no sun on it until the afternoon so sun loungers all free then, but there were times when not enough sun loungers for guests. The pool is lovely.

Luckily lots of options in Collioure for lunch as fine dining is at lunchtime too. That was fine as my children are older enough, but just a warning for anyone with smaller ones there is no room service or simpler food.

Cyril is great on reception and deserves all his accolades!

The rooms are good, but not exceptional.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not awful but there were niggles and annoyances.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mrgreedy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Absolutely perfect location for exploring Collioure. Stunning view of the bay and Collioure.
Very professional and efficient staff at the reception. You are not allowed to park your own car at the small secured car park - the system though worked perfectly.
Make sure to book a room with a private terrace/balcony or garden. The rooms are small, modern and not so charming. The level of cleaning could be better - however, the ladies cleaning the rooms were ever so friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was a bit expensive for what it was - but top quality food no doubt about that - and again stunning view from the restaurant. The girl in charge of the breakfast was charming, efficient and professional. We would, however, recommend that the breakfast restaurant had more staff on duty - no refilling of bread, juice, etc. before you asked.
A small complaint - the pool, pool area and the sun bed were not very clean. Perhaps a good idea to check the area every morning :-)
We enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews