We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oh my gosh, this place is perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from balcony, lounge and rear bedrooms.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from balcony, lounge and rear bedrooms.
Magical and private swimming space by Roman walls Stylish and very well equipped luxury living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
View from balcony, lounge and rear bedrooms.
Magical and private swimming space by Roman walls
Stylish and very well equipped luxury living
Luxurious bedrooms
Outdoor dining areas
Romantic and refined.
Tranquil setting for dining
Wonderful private and secluded pool area.
Sublime, gracious medieval charm
Exquisite seating areas.
Magical setting
Bedroom with views over garden & Castle.
Incredibly rare, wonderfully-crafted walnut staircase from 17th century adorns house.
Fancy a game?
Sun worshipping in style
Spacious dining room adjacent kitchen
Garden and house backs onto this breathtaking medieval site.
Position of house in relation to the Castle
Stylish, well equipped kitchen.
First class views.
House dating from 1694 with ancient internal 12th century well.
Superb beach in lovely Lagrasse, with its Abbey & 12th century sites
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Coco N
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Oh my gosh, this place is perfect!”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I've traveled a lot, this place was perfect! All the photos are accurate, details are considerate, seating is comfy and plentiful. The kitchen is really well-planned and has everything, the beds are super comfortable. There are four separate outside sitting areas, each charming and enticing, plus the swimming pool deck. Bed linens, towels and robes were lux, and the house was incredibly clean. The place was clearly designed to pamper! Being situated at the foot of a UNESCO World Heritage site is incredibly fun, and the lit castle at night is the perfect backdrop to make any guest feel like a rock star! The town itself is a fun walk. At the owners' recommendation we rented bikes and did a super fun, easy, 36 K Canal du Midi bike ride, to lunch in a nearby town and back. Everything about this vacation was perfection and we want to make the Maison du Chateau an annual trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z1ggy66
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in August 2015

This place has everything, pool, location to Carcassonne, outside space, bedrooms. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very well appointed spacious house ”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have been delighted with this booking.
Host was a delight to deal with - efficient , helpful and everything just as described.
The house is well equipped with ample crockery and equipment
Pool was welcomed by the kids
The house is unique in my experience in being very much a town house - so fantastic location to walk everywhere to what is needed- but having great outdoor space with ample open sunshine and shade
We were 2 families sharing ( so 7 of us) and never felt crowded.
Positives.
Location - walk to numerous restaurants and 2 local shops
Facilities - high standard including good UK satellite TV and music systems
WiFi
Spacious
The balcony for watching fireworks on Bastille Day - surely the best location in Carcassonne. - unbelievable auditory and visual experience
Negatives
No shower in one master bedroom on top floor - only a bath
Garage door is a bit of a pain to open and close due to design and anything bigger than a Ford Focus would be tricky to park - don't bring a Range Rover for example!
As this was Bastille week the Port D'aude - nearest gate into Citi was closed for 4 days to prepare fireworks - a one off and just a bit longer walk
Need to be ok with climbing 70 steps or so if walking into the city - not a problem for us but worth bearing in mind

Great stay - book Bastille week if you can - unbelievable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Hi Ian,

Thanks for your kind review and so glad you loved the house. Would be delighted to have you back with a discount for repeat business!

Best regards

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding property in an amazing location...”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We're just back from an excellent holiday where we stayed at Masion du Chateau. The occasion was my 50th birthday and I wanted something really special to remember it by - I couldn't have chosen better.

Eight of us enjoyed a fabulous week here at the foot of the Medieval City of Carcassonne and the house catered for everything we needed. The first thing you notice is how cool (in both respects) the property is after stepping in from the hot weather. The stone character I guess keeps it that way and it was very welcome. It was a really nice touch to have 6 good bottles of wine waiting for us when we arrived. With the ability to buy more from the wine merchant who lived next door.

The garden is excellent with an adequately sized swimming pool beyond a child proof gate, that has artificial grass surrounding it - perfect to go bare foot on. The pool even had a current generator to swim against for exercise.

The first thing you notice about the garden is that it's made for outdoor living with it's BBQ, comfy seating area and dining table where we spent a few nights eating, drinking wine, laughing and admiring in awe the castle directly above us lit up against the night sky.

The kitchen is superbly equipped, it has everything you'll need and it's big enough to cram in more than enough cooks to spoil the broth.

The bedrooms are again superb. Being the birthday boy I naturally got first pick (that and running up the stairs the quickest) and so we took the main room on the top floor with it's four poster bed and view out over the garden and castle. A very comfortable bed with great pillows and all the clothes storage we needed in the chest of drawers and wardrobes. Everyone else was pleased with their accommodation too.

There's a washing machine in the adjoining garage. And there's a table tennis table too, and we had great fun round that after a busy day touring.

The location is superb, a 20-25 minute walk through parks and by the river to the (new) city centre. A simple 5 minute climb up steps at the end of the road to the Medieval City or a 10 minute gentler climb a bit further on near the church. We collected croissants from 2 minutes down the road every morning and picked up bottled water from the same when we went into the city.

The UK owner has been superb - very communicative and helpful, allowing us to use the house for the full day we were leaving as there was no one else coming in that day. Thanks John!

This was a special house at a special location for a special occasion and between 8 of us was superb value for money. The flights from Stansted were cheap and the airport just a 15 minute cab ride.

We all agreed we would love to go back one day. Five stars all round!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks Neil and so glad you had a delightful holiday.
Best
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawcrit
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular luxury”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here two weeks ago. What a joy. Like many French houses it is unpreposessing from the front but once through the front door the hall opens up into a beautiful reception room and refurbished kitchen. There are stairs up to a huge homely living room and gorgeous outdoor terrace. The top floor has two massive air conditioned bedrooms and the view from the back bedroom onto the castle walls is breath taking. The garden is equipped to a very high standard and the pool is a delight. The property is furnished to very high standards and the renovation of the property is wonderful. Carcassonne is a wonderful city and the luxury of this property made for a delightful relaxing week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thankyou for your kind words and delighted your family enjoyed the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing