We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Pain Vin Fromage

Pain Vin Fromage
Ranked #764 of 19 401 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: French, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We found out about this gem a little too late to make a reservation. We decided to cross our fingers and show up at 7pm when they opened. The nice host was nice enough to squeeze us in and was up front and said our table was reserved at 8:30, which was fine. We were eating with our two young daughters, who loved the fondue and raclette...and chocolate fondue for dessert. We also enjoyed the Creme Brûlée. We ate downstairs, which includes two small dining areas with arched ceilings lined with stone. A very nice experience. Definitely recommend making a reservation, as I think we totally lucked out getting in without one. The host made our trip to Paris by finding us a table. I don’t think I have ever seen a wait staff working so hard.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1 763 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Wonderful place where you can enjoy typical French food, cheese, fondues and raclettes.
This restaurant is always full, to completely enjoy your dinner is best to have a reservation.
The waiters are kind and available for menu explanations!
Highly recommended!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 485auroral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Pain, Vin Fromage is a great place to try fondue, or experience it again if its not your first time. We had the traditional cheese fondue with kirsch as well as beef fondue and they were both outstanding. The service was great, friendly and courteous. A great evening out. Definitely get reservation though. We got there 30 minutes before they opened and I think there were only 2 other couples besides us that got in without reservations. They turned everyone else away. Only reservation available was at 1030.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JACK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

The chef knows his job: the cheese is amazing, the wine is ok, and should you have questions, they'll be promplty answered.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redkidneybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We do not speech much French and when having communication issues they have *refused to speak with us in English*.
Service was nearly throwing the dishes to our table and we have had to remember them multiple times our petitions.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank vcolominas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pain Vin Fromage also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pain Vin Fromage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing